Skip to main content

Natural Resource Economics: Government Resources: Library Guide: Energy resources: South Africa

A guide to government information for Natural Resource Economics students.

Organisation

Department of Energy

National Energy Regulator

"The National Energy Regulator (NERSA) is a regulatory authority established as a juristic person in terms of Section 3 of the National Energy Regulator Act, 2004 (Act No. 40 of 2004). NERSA’s mandate is to regulate the Electricity, Piped-Gas and Petroleum Pipeline industries in terms of the Electricity Regulation Act, 2006 (Act No. 4 of 2006), Gas Act, 2001 (Act No. 48 of 2001) and Petroleum Pipelines Act, 2003 (Act No. 60 of 2003)."

Eskom

State owned company. "Eskom generates approximately 95% of the electricity used in South Africa and approximately 45% of the electricity used in Africa."

National Nuclear Regulator

"The National Nuclear Regulator (NNR) is a public entity which is established and governed in terms of Section 3 of the National Nuclear Regulator Act, (Act No 47 of 1999) to provide for the protection of persons, property and the environment against nuclear damage through the establishment of safety standards and regulatory practices."

South African Nuclear Energy Corporation SOC Limited (Necsa)

"The South African Nuclear Energy Corporation SOC Limited (Necsa) is a state-owned public company, registered in terms of the Companies Act, (Act No. 61 of 1973)." Formerly the Atomic Energy Board (AEB).

CEF Group of Companies

"CEF (SOC) Ltd. is involved in the search for appropriate energy solutions to meet the future energy needs of South Africa, the Southern African Development Community and the sub-Saharan African region, including oil, gas, electrical power, solar energy, low-smoke fuels, biomass, wind and renewable energy sources. CEF also manages the operation and development of the oil and gas assets and operations of the South African government."

The Petroleum, Oil and Gas Corporation of South Africa (PetroSA)

National oil company. "Starting with the exploration and production of oil and natural gas, we sell petrochemical products to South Africa´s major oil companies and export petrochemical products to the international markets."

South African National Energy Development Institute (SANEDI)

"The South African National Energy Development Institute (SANEDI) is a Schedule 3A state owned entity that was established as a successor to the previously created South African National Energy Research Institute (SANERI) and the National Energy Efficiency Agency (NEEA). The main function of SANEDI is to direct, monitor and conduct applied energy research and development, demonstration and deployment as well to undertake specific measures to promote the uptake of Green Energy and Energy Efficiency in South Africa." Energy Efficiency Research Reports.

 

Journals

Energy management news (Cape Town, South Africa)    Energy management news :   a newsletter for the SADC region.    [Cape Town, South Africa] :   Energy Research Institute of the University of Cape Town ;   Harare, Zimbabwe :   SADC Industrial Energy Management Project. G 68 K.ENER

Journal of energy in Southern Africa.    Plumstead, South Africa :   Energy Research Institute, University of Cape Town. G 68 K.ENER.JOUR

Cape Town

City of Cape Town. Cape Town : state of energy, 2015

Walsh, Vivienne.    Cape Town, 2011 :   state of energy and energy futures report : energy use, carbon emissions inventory and scenarios for the future /    Cape Town :   Environmental Resource Management, City of Cape Town,   2011. G RCT E.ENVI.11.CAPE

Ward, Sarah, Vivienne Walsh. Cape Town energy case study. Cape Town : Energy and Climate Change Branch, Environmental Resource Management Department, City of Cape Town, 04 June 2010 (Energy for large cities: World Energy Council study)

State of energy report for the city of Cape Town, 2007 /    Cape Town :   Environmental Resource Management, City of Cape Town,   [2007?]. G RCT E.ENVI.07.STAT

Sustainable Energy Africa.    State of energy :   report for Cape Town /    [Westlake, South Africa] :   Sustainable Energy Africa,   2003. G RCT E.ENVI.03.STAT

City of Cape Town. State of energy report for Cape Town, 2003

Statistics

Department of Energy. Energy Statistics

Department of Energy. Energy Sector Reports

South Africa survey online, 2014/2015. Business and infrastructure. Energy, p. 23-29.

Access via UCT Libraries databases: go to South African Institute of Race Relations; choose South Africa survey; choose the Business and Infrastructure Chapter;  download Adobe PDF

OECD-published statistics. Access via UCT Libraries databases: choose OECDiLibrary, then Statistics. Choose from Databases and Book Series.

G 68 E.ENER.10.SOUT
Maleka, Eyetwa Moses.
   South African energy synopsis 2010 / prepared by Eyetwa Moses Maleka, Lindiwe Mashimbye and Philip Goyns --    Pretoria : Dept. of Energy, South Africa, [2010]?
G 68 A.ENER
   Digest of South African energy statistics, 2009 / Department: Minerals and Energy, Republic of South Africa, Directorate: Energy Planning and Development. --    Pretoria : Dept. of Minerals and Energy.

Department of Energy. Electrification statistics, 2009.

G 68 A.ELEC.STAT
   Electricity generated and available for distribution / Statistics South Africa. --    Pretoria, South Africa : [Statistics South Africa,] 2004- .
   v. ; 30 cm. ( Statistical release ; P4141. ) July 2004 to date.

 

Prices

South Africa, Department of Energy. Directorate: Energy Data Collection, Management and Analysis. South African energy price report, 2013.

South Africa, Department of Energy. Directorate: Energy Data Collection, Management and Analysis. South African energy price report, 2012.

South Africa, Department of Energy. Directorate: Energy Data Collection, Management and Analysis. South African energy price report, 2011

South African energy price report, 2010 /    Pretoria :   Department of Minerals and Energy,   2011. G 68 E.ENER.11.SOUT

Energy price report, 2005 /    Pretoria :   Department of Minerals and Energy,   2005. G 68 E.ENER.05.ENER

Earlier statistical publications

G 68 A.ELEC.STAT
   Generation and consumption of electricity / Central Statistical Service. --    Pretoria : The Service, 1996-2004. Monthly. June 1996-June 2004.
 
G 68 A.ELEC.STAT   Electricity available for distribution / Central Statistical Service. --    Pretoria : The Service, 1996. Monthly. Dec. 1995-1996.
 
G 68 A.ELEC.STAT
   Electricity available for distribution = Elektrisiteit beskikbaar vir verspreiding. --    Pretoria : Dept. of Statistics, [1980?]-1996. Monthly. Apr. 1980-Nov. 1995
 
G 68 A.ELEC.SUPP
   Electricity supply statistics for South Africa / National Electricity Regulator. --    Sandton : NER. Annual. 1997-2004.
 
G 68 ES.ELEC
National Electricity Regulator (South Africa)
   Lighting up South Africa : progress report on electrification. 1995-2003.
 
G 68 E.ENER.03.SOUT   South African National Energy Association.    South African energy profile 2003 /    Mellville :   SANEA,   [2003].
 
G 68 A(ENER)   South African energy statistics, No. 1 (1950-1989). Pretoria : National Energy Council, 1990.
 
G 68 A(ENER)   South African energy statistics, No. 2 (1950-1993). Pretoria : Department of Mineral and Energy Affairs, 1993.
 
G 68 A(ESCOM)
   ESKOM statistical yearbook. --    Johannesburg : ESKOM, 1987-1996.
 
G 68 A(ESCOM)
   Statistical yearbook / ESCOM. --    Johannesburg : Escom, 1985-1986.
 
G 68 ES(ESCOM)
ESCOM (South Africa)
   ESKOM annual report, 1987 to date.
 
G 68 ES(ESCOM)
South Africa. Electricity Supply Commission
   Annual report / Electricity Supply Commission, South Africa. 1923/4-1986.

Household energy

Department of Energy. A survey of energy related behaviour and perceptions in South Africa: the residential sector, 2013

Department of Energy. A survey of energy-related behaviour and perceptions in South Africa: the residential sector, 2012

Department of Energy. Socio-economic impact of electrification: household perspective, 2009

G 68 A.HOUS.12.ENER
   GHS series. Volume V, Energy 2002-2012 : in-depth analysis of the General Household Survey data / Statistics South Africa. --    Pretoria : Statistics South Africa, c2013.
   xii, 104 p. : charts ; 30 cm. ( Report ; no. 03-18-04 (2002-2012) )

General household surveys (archive). Pretoria : Statistics South Africa. G 68 A.HOUS.GENE

Accounts

Energy accounts for South Africa, 2002-2009. - Pretoria : Statistics South Africa, 2012 (( Discussion document ; D0405.1.1 ) ( National accounts )
G 68 A.ENER.09.ENER
   Energy accounts for South Africa, 2002-2006 / [Statistics South Africa]. --    Pretoria : Statistics South Africa, 2009.
   iv, 65 p. : ill. ; 21 x30 cm. ( Discussion document ; D0405.1.1 ) ( National accounts )
G 68 A.ENER.05.NATU
   Natural resource accounts : energy accounts for South Africa, 1995-2001 / Statistics South Africa. --    Pretoria : Statistics South Africa, 2005.
   iii, 50 leaves ; 30 cm. ( Discussion document (Statistics South Africa). ) ( National accounts. )

Analysis brief

U.S. Energy Information Administration.  Analysis brief: South Africa

Western Cape

Energy consumption and CO2e emissions database for the Western Cape. Cape Town : Western Cape Government, Environmental Affairs & Development Planning, January 2013. 

Western Cape energy consumption and CO2e emissions database summary reports (2012)

Cape Town

City of Cape Town. Cape Town state of energy 2015. Cape Town : City of Cape Town, 2015.

Walsh, Vivienne.    Cape Town, 2011 :   state of energy and energy futures report : energy use, carbon emissions inventory and scenarios for the future /    Cape Town :   Environmental Resource Management, City of Cape Town,   2011.

State of energy report for the City of Cape Town, 2007 /    Cape Town :   Environmental Resource Management, City of Cape Town,   [2007?]. G RCT E.ENVI.07.STAT

Ward, Sarah, Vivienne Walsh. Cape Town Energy Case Study. World Energy Council, 2010. 

Cape Town Metro energy consumption and CO2e emissions summary report. Cape Town : Western Cape Government, Environmental Affairs & Development Planning, January 2013.

Article

Mzini, Loraine and Tshombe Lukamba-Muhiya. 2014. An assessment of electricity supply and demand at Emfuleni Local Municipality. Journal of energy in southern Africa, Vol. 25, no. 3 (Aug. 2014)   G 68 K.ENER.JOUR