Skip to main content

Water Resources: Government Information: Library Guide: Australia

This guide directs you to government sources on water resources from international to local level.


Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities. Australia's Water

Murray-Darling Basin Authority 

"The MDBA is enabled by the Murray–Darling Basin Agreement (Schedule 1 of the Water Act
2007), a partnership of the Australian Government and the governments of New South Wales,
Victoria, South Australia, Queensland and the Australian Capital Territory."

National Water Commission

Government statutory authority established by the National Water Commission Act 2004.

National Water Initiative (NWI)

The Council of Australian Governments' (COAG) principal water policy agreement.