Skip to main content

Library & Information Science Library Guide: Looking for Articles

A guide to the resources in UCT Libraries

Where to start ...

PRIMO will tell you which journals and books we have access to, and will also provide links to the fulltext of some articles and chapters.    

One of the most effective ways to find articles on topics related to Librarianship is to use the databases.

Databases  collect, organise and index information from journals, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations, magazines and other sources.   

Search for articles using databases by typing in keywords that describe your topic.

It is possible to search across a whole range of databases at one time for articles on a particular subject.   Many of these articles will be immediately available in full text, but some only as abstracts (summaries) or citations.    Not all these articles will be available at UCT Libraries,  so you may need to ask Interlibrary Loans to obtain the article for you from another library.

 

You may access these databases on campus or from your office (Off-campus login required)  through the libraries' homepage.    Log in using your student ID and password.   You'll be taken to the main UCT Libraries web page and from there can access our electronic resources.

 

 

Looking for articles

You're looking for a particular article in a specific journal. 

To check whether the library subscribes to that title,  check the  journals list  on PRIMO.

 

If the title does not appear,  then ask for assistance at the Information Desk.  We can check the South African Catalogue to see whether another library subscribes to the title, and a request can be placed at Interlibrary Loans for a copy to be sent for you.

 

You're looking for articles on a specific topic.

Use the libraries' databases to locate articles.   Ask at the Information Desk for advice on which would be the best databases to use or check out the list below.

Useful Databases

Look at the A-Z list of databases for these some of these titles.  

Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)     (via Proquest)

Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) covers the field of librarianship and information science but includes many related areas such as Publishing, and specific applications of information technology in such fields as Medicine and Agriculture. The database abstracts over 550 periodicals from more than 60 countries and in over 20 different languages. In addition to periodical articles, coverage also includes abstracts of individual papers published in major English language conference proceedings, together with considerable coverage of book reviews and selected research report series.

Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)  (via EBSCOhost) (Click on the EBSCOhost link on Databases by Platform) 

LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

 

Education Resources Information Center  (ERIC)

Especially useful when looking for material on school and childrens' librarianship.   We have access to ERIC through a number of databases.    

 

EMERALD

EMERALD provides fulltext access to journals covering library collection and management, library technology, library management and information services and knowledge management. 

 

E-LIS

E-LIS is an open access archive to deposit preprints, postprints and other documents in the field of library and information science in electronic format.

 

Directory of Open Access Journals

The directory contains information about open access journals, i.e. quality controlled scientific and scholarly electronic journals that are freely available on the web. The service will continue to grow as new journals are identified.


Science Direct

ScienceDirect offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection (over 1,200 titles), along with journals from a host of prestigious societies and scientific, technical and medical publishers. The full text collection of over 1 million articles from 1995 to present covers a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines in the sciences and social sciences.

 

Taylor and Francis Online

A number of LIS journals are hosted on this site.