Skip to main content

Organisational Psychology Library Guide: Psyc databases

A guide to resources for Organisational Psychology.

PsycArticles

PsycARTICLES – via EBSCOhost 


PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. It contains all the material (with the exception of ads and editorial board lists) from over 50 top psychology publications.

 

PsycARTICLES is a subset of the far more comprehensive PsycINFO database.

Post Traumatic Stress Database

PILOTS 

This bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.

Psychology book reviews

PsycCRITIQUES - via EBSCOhost 


PsycCRITIQUES is a database of full text book reviews in psychology. The database replaces the print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books and provides reviews of current books and some films, as well as a 10 year backfile.

PsycInfo Guides

PsycINFO – via EBSCOhost 


PsycINFO provides access to citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage, spanning 1887-present, includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present.

For the most part PsycINFO gives only citations and abstracts for journal articles, book chapters and theses, rather than the full text.

However, clicking on the SFX link below each record often brings up the full text of the article from other databases to which UCT subscribes. If PsycINFO  searching brings up a reference to a book chapter, you can check on the library catalogue to see whether we have that book. If we do not have that book at UCT, we might still be able to get it for you from another library in South Africa by inter-library loan.

It is important to master PsycINFO since it is the primary tool for research in psychology.

Two guides are attached below: a two-page quick-start guide and an in-depth guide with examples.

The online sources are:

http://www.apa.org/pubs/databases/training/ebsco.pdf

http://support.epnet.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=2564

PsycTests

PsycTESTS 


PsycTESTS® is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.

Subject Guide

Andiswa Mfengu's picture
Andiswa Mfengu
Contact:
Room 3,
Research Wing (Level 5)
Chancellor Oppenheimer Library
021 650 4455

Acquired Brain Impediment database

PsycBITE 
"PsycBITE is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour. The website gives clinicians, students and researchers free access to the PsycBITE database ..."

Psychiatry Online and DSM5

PsychiatryOnline 


Includes access to the DSM-5, journals and some books published by the American Psychiatric Association.