Skip to main content

Accounting Library Guide: Databases

How to find information - a guide for Accounting and Auditing students

Databases

Databases collect, organise and index information from journals, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations, magazines, newspapers and other sources.

Search for articles using databases by typing in keywords that describe your topic. Remember to define the topic and think about the key concepts involved. Ask your subject librarian, Susanne Noll for help if needed.

The databases will show lists of journal articles and other materials on your topic, but not all these articles will be available in UCT Libraries. If we do not subscribe to the journal you may, ask our Interlibrary Loans Department to obtain the article for you from another library.

Evaluating e-resources

When using the internet you should be cautious as most websites don't undergo peer review. You need to evaluate the website: is it reliable? is it up to date? is it credible?

The following links will help you find out more about evaluating websites:

UC Berkeley Library. Evaluating web pages: techniques to apply & questions to ask
Cornell University Library. Evaluating web sites: criteria and tools

Accessing databases

To access e-databases choose the Databases link from the Search & Find tab on the Libraries'  homepage

It is possible to access our databases and electronic journals off-campus using EZProxy.

Useful Databases

We suggest the following databases for your literature review:

Academic Search Premier 

Provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study—including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.

Academic OneFile        

Provides extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Africa-Wide: NiPAD         

Africa-Wide: NiPAD combines databases (African Studies, South African Studies, and African Healthline) to form a multidisciplinary
aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This resource is essential for those with an interest in African research, and information on and about Africa.

Business Source Premier

Provides journal coverage in the areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Business Source Premier features: cumulative full text for nearly 1,685 scholarly business journals and more than 40 regional publications; indicative abstracts and indexing for over 2,350 business journals, nearly 880 of which are peer-reviewed; charts and graphs converted to keyword-searchable ASCII text; a directory of over 1.4 million company records from Dun & Bradstreet; and over 1,200 journals with images.

Country Watch

Provides critical country-specific intelligence and data through its suite of products to over 4000 clients including public and private sector organizations with overseas operations and global interests.

Access via password - please contact the Library at 650 3704.

Emerald Full Text, Emerald Management Reviews & Emerald Abstracts  

The EMX140 collection provides access to management articles in the areas of: general management; human resources; information management; library & information services; marketing; operations, production & economics; property; quality; and training & education     

IBFD - Your portal to cross border tax expertise

International Financial Statistics

The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available. 

Access via password - please contact the Library at 650 3704

ISI Emerging Markets

A Euromoney Institutional Investor Company.  ISI delivers hard-to-get information, intelligence and data on over 80 emerging markets through a suite of ward-winning electronic subscription products.

UCT has access to Africa & the Middle East, Asia, Argentina, Brazil and Chile.

ISI Web of Science         

Explore the world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool.

Jutastat Publications - via Juta Law Online

Includes: Burrells Intellectual Properly Law Library; Indexes to the Government Gazettes of South Africa; Statutes of SA; Wette van SA; Labour Library; SA Appellate Division Law Reports; SA Criminal law Reports; SA Law Reports; Zimbabwe Statutes and Case Law; SA Regulations; Civil Procedure Library; Tanzanian Law Reports; Zambia Law Reports, Namibian Law Reports.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

A huge  database of journal and news articles, together with search options for country reports and company profiles, each from a range of top notch sources.

LexisNexis South Africa - University Collection        

Provides full text access to a number of Legal and Commercial resources. Includes: The Constitutional Law Library, Labour Law Library, Civil Procedure Library, Commercial Law Library, Complete Tax Library, OHASA Library, SAICA Library, Arbitration Law Reports, Constitutional Law Reports, Labour Law Reports, South African Tax Cases Reports, Butterworths Consolidated Index and Noter-Up to the South African Law Reports and the South African Law Reports (Gracie's Index),Statues of SA / Wette van SA, Current Law, Forms and Precedents.

South African Institute of Chartered Accountants Members Handbook (SAICA) - via Butterworths Internet (Full Text)

Provides access to chapters on: Accounting Statements; South African Auditing Standards; South African Auditing Statements; Special Reports; Constitution and By-laws; Ethics/Code of Professional Conduct; Management Consulting Services; Management Consulting Guidelines; Current Circulars; Outstanding Exposure Drafts; Proposed Statements of SAAS; Proposed Interpretations of Generally Accepted Accounting Practice; Special Exposure Drafts; and Outstanding Discussion Papers.

Access by password - please contact the Library at 650 3704. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

SA e-Publications

This service, which is the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic South African journals in the world, focuses on making journals published in South Africa available online.

Tax Treaties Database 
This database, published by the IBFD, "contains more than 3,600 tax and social security treaties together with over 2,000 protocols, supplementary agreements and exchanges of notes to these treaties."