Skip to Main Content

Accounting Library Guide: Referencing & Citation

How to find information - a guide for Accounting and Auditing students

Referencing

http://http://www.lib.uct.ac.za/lib/research/referencing

Academic writing requires that you acknowledge other writers’ words and thoughts by citing and referencing  your sources of information. Citing is the practice of quoting from, or referring to, other writers’ works and ideas  in the text of your work; referencing is the listing of the full details of the publications that you have cited so  that the reader can find the original sources.

You should always acknowledge the sources that you consulted when preparing your work. Failing to acknowledge your sources is construed as plagiarism. For more information on plagiarism, please refer to the guide on Plagiarism by the Department of Philosophy!

UCT Libraries has a web page dedicated to various referencing and citation styles.

If you do not know which referencing style to use, ask your lecturer or supervisor, who will assist you in this regard.

 

Plagiarism

Plagiarism is a dishonest act of attempting to take someone else’s ideas, writing, design or research and presenting them as your own.

This is viewed very seriously by UCT and may lead to expulsion. To avoid plagiarism it is important to cite and reference your sources.

Plagiarism Declaration

UCT's Plagiarism Policy with Declaration form is available at:

 Avoiding Plagiarism - a Guide for Students

UCTs Referencing Style Guide

RefWorks

Welcome to the New RefWorks!

This update to RefWorks is a new way to collect, manage and organize research papers and documents.  You can read annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections.

RefWorks’ drag and drop capability along with our smart document recognition makes it easy and fast to upload documents and bibliographic metadata into your library and the Save to RefWorks feature allows you to capture research from websites with the click of a button.

From simple bibliographies to papers formatted with in-text citations or footnotes, RefWorks handles it all.
 
The following libguide offers great tips on how to use REFWORKS:
 
http://proquest.libguides.com/newrefworks

Organising your references & compiling a bibliography

The University of Cape Town has campus-wide licences to RefWorks and Endnote. These reference management tools allow you to save citations to your own RefWorks or Endnote database whilst gathering sources for your research project.

When writing your paper, theses or dissertation you can choose the referencing style required to create the bibliography and easily change the style later if necessary. Please consult your lecturer regarding what reference style should be used for your course. 

EndNote

EndNote is reference management software with features to—

  • Keep all your references and reference-related materials in a searchable personal library.

  • Synchronize your references between up to three of your personal computers, an online library, and your iPad, through EndNote sync. (You must be the owner and user of all three computers.)

  • Share your references with collaborators through EndNote sync.

  • Use your references in word-processing documents to create formatted citations and bibliographies or independent reference lists.

The following libguide offers great tips on how to use ENDNOTE:

http://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/home