Skip to main content

Accounting Library Guide: Tracking your academic footprint

How to find information - a guide for Accounting and Auditing students

Tracking your academic footprint

OpenUCT - Recently launched - a growing collection of UCT's output and includes MSc & PhD theses.

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations and Theses – A&I)

With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master’s theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the author. Master’s theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microform, paper or electronic formats.  You can create search alerts (email or RSS feed) for theses in your subject area.

National ETD Portal South Africa: South African Theses and Dissertations:   This site is run by the UCT Computer Science Digital Libraries Laboratory on behalf of the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations.  It provides access to the full text of many thousands of doctoral PHD and some other dissertations produced in South African universities. These cover the full range of science, social science and humanities topics. There is some coverage from as early as the 1970s although there are larger numbers of post 2009 records. Search by keyword or browse. There is no alerting service.

NDLTD (Theses and Dissertations) 
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.  Part of the Open Access Initiative, the NDLTD can be searched via Sabinet Reference and RSS feeds may be set up for your searches.

OAIster—OCLC
OAIster is a multidisciplinary database of records that represent digital resources from more than 1100 contributors worldwide that can be searched via OCLC WorldCat. Typical collections include: theses, technical reports, research papers and image collections.  Search for your subject and refine your results to Thesis/Dissertation in the Format facet on the left hand side.  If you register an account in WorldCat you can save your searches, but the refinement of the results will not be saved.  There is no alerting service.

SACat
SACat is available on the Sabinet Reference platform.  It includes the Union Catalogue for Theses and Dissertations (UCTD) which indexes bibliographic records of theses and dissertations at master's and doctoral level submitted to universities in South Africa since 1918.  Honorary doctorates are also included.   The database is updated annually and unfortunately there is no alerting service.  To search for theses in SACat, you need to mouse over 'SEARCH' at the top of the page, then click on the database in the drop down list called (UCTD) Union Catalogue for Theses and Dissertations.

WorldCat Dissertations and Theses—OCLC
Covers all catalogued dissertations and theses to the present and currently has over 17 million records.  It contains records of dissertations, theses, and published materials based on theses cataloged by OCLC member libraries, for all subjects and in all languages. Many citations link to full text licensed from NetLibrary and other electronic providers as well as to free electronic materials available from educational, government and other websites. All show library locations for all types of material.  If you register an account in WorldCat you can save your searches.  There is no alerting service.  To manage your saved searches, log in and click on previous searches.

Research in progress

Current and Completed Research: 
This database provides information on approximately 150 000 South African current and completed research projects including theses and dissertations in all fields of science since 1919. English titles are given for projects not in English. It also includes abstracts. A limited number of records contain links to the full-text. The NAVTECH (university of technology) research projects are included in the database.  There is no alerting service.

To search for this database in SACat, you need to mouse over 'SEARCH' at the top of the page, then click on Current and Completed Research.