Skip to main content

Information Systems Library Guide: Databases

A guide to information for Information Systems students from UCT Libraries

Databases

Databases collect, organise and index information from journals, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations, magazines, newspapers and other sources.

Search for articles using databases by typing in keywords that describe your topic. Remember to define the topic and think about the key concepts involved. Ask your subject librarian, Susanne Noll, for help if needed.

The databases will show lists of journal articles and other materials on your topic, but not all these articles will be available in UCT Libraries. If we do not subscribe to the journal you need, ask our Interlibrary Loans Department to obtain the article for you from another library.

Useful Databases

We suggest the following databases for literature reviews in Information Systems

Academic OneFile : A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies,humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

Academic Search Premier : Provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study—including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.

ACM Digital Library : Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985 are available in the library together with works published by affiliated organizations.

ACM Guide : the Guide to Computing Literature.

Africa-Wide: NiPAD : Africa-Wide: NiPAD combines databases (African Studies, South African Studies, and African Healthline) to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This resource is essential for those with an interest in African research, and information on and about Africa.

Business and Management Practices : Business and Management Practices contains information dealing with processes, methods, and strategies of managing businesses. Its coverage focuses on source publications that deal with management issues and business methodology from a practical approach.

Business Source Premier : Provides journal coverage in the areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more.

Computer Abstracts : Computer Abstracts International Database provides online access to over 200,000 abstracts, dating back to 1987, from the 200 foremost journals in computer science. 

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete 
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,900 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 840 periodicals.

Computer and Information Systems Abstracts - via CSA Technology Research Database

Emerald : The Electronic Management Research Library Database - provides access to over 25,000 management articles from over  130 journals in the areas of: general management; human resources; information management; library  and  information services;marketing; operations, production & economics; property; quality; and training & education.

SA e-publications : This service, which is the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic South African journals in the world, focuses on making journals published in South Africa available online

Web of Science ISI citation database : Search by bibliographic information (author, title, topic, source, address) by cited references, or by using field tags and set combination.

Accessing databases

To access databases choose the Electronic Resources tab on the top menu bar of our homepage and then select either Databases or Databases by Platform

It is possible to access our databases and electronic journals off-campus using EZProxy.