Skip to main content

Finance and Tax Library Guide: Databases

Guide for library resources for UCT Finance students

Databases

Databases collect, organise and index information from journals, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations, magazines, newspapers and other sources.

Search for articles using databases by typing in keywords that describe your topic. Remember to define the topic and think about the key concepts involved. Ask your subject librarian, Susanne Noll for help if needed.

The databases will show lists of journal articles and other materials on your topic, but not all these articles will be available in UCT Libraries. If we do not subscribe to the journal you need, ask our Interlibrary Loans Department to obtain the article for you from another library.

Useful other databases

The three most important databases for raw data for Finance projects are IRess, Eikon and Datastream by Thomson Reuters and Bloomberg.

IRESS is the pre-eminent provider of stock market, fundamental research data and news to the Financial sector and the corporate market at large. Data provisioning is made available via web based research and real time delivery products as well as customised data sets for input into client side systems, websites, print media and displays such as plasma screens. This flexibility has earned McGregor BFA a reputation for building systems which cater for the precise needs of our clients.

Eikon (Thomson-Reuters) Datastream is the world's largest financial statistical database - covering an unrivalled wealth of asset classes, estimates, fundamentals, indices and economic data. You can explore relationships between data series, analyze and map historical trends, and validate investment ideas.

Bloomberg provides realā€time and historical financial market data and economic data, covering all sectors worldwide. It also features analytics, company financials, news, and customizable charting.    

We suggest the following databases for literature reviews

Academic Search Premier

Provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study—including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.

Academic OneFile        

Provides extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Africa-Wide: NiPAD         

Africa-Wide: NiPAD combines databases (African Studies, South African Studies, and African Healthline) to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This resource is essential for those with an interest in African research, and information on and about Africa.

Business Day Archive       

Initially modeled after the Financial Times of London, Business Day goes beyond traditional financial reporting to cover sport,travel, books, arts and entertainment from a business-minded perspective. Its editorial integrity helps ensure that researchers find reliable information, while its popular opinion columns offer unique perspectives on current events. Now, each issue of this daily newspaper is available in a fully-searchable digital archive, giving students and researchers unprecedented access to decades of South African history.

Business Source Premier

Provides journal coverage in the areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Business Source Premier features: cumulative full text for nearly 1,685 scholarly business journals and more than 40 regional publications; indicative abstracts and indexing for over 2,350 business journals, nearly 880 of which are peer-reviewed; charts and graphs converted to keyword-searchable ASCII text; a directory of over 1.4 million company records from Dun & Bradstreet; and over 1,200 journals with images.

Emerald Full Text 

Discover Journals, Books and Case Studies : The EMX140 collection provides access to management articles in the areas of: general management; human resources; information management; library & information services; marketing; operations, production & economics; property; quality; and training & education.

EMIS - In, On, And For Emerging Markets

EMIS operates in and reports on countries where high reward goes hand-in-hand with high risk. We bring you time-sensitive, hard-to-get, relevant news, research and analytical data, peer comparisons and more for over 145 emerging markets.

ISI Web of Science   

Explore the world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool.

Lexis-Nexis Academic       

A huge  database of journal and news articles, together with search options for country reports and company profiles, each from a ranger of top notch sources.

LexisNexis Online - South Africa        

Provides full text access to a number of Legal and Commercial resources. Includes: The Constitutional Law Library, Labour Law Library, Civil Procedure Library, Commercial Law Library, Complete Tax Library, OHASA Library, SAICA Library, Arbitration Law Reports, Constitutional Law Reports, Labour Law Reports, South African Tax Cases Reports, Butterworths Consolidated Index and Noter-Up to the South African Law Reports and the South African Law Reports (Gracie's Index),Statues of SA / Wette van SA, Current Law, Forms and Precedents.

Regional Business News

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

 SA Media - via Sabinet Reference

This service, which is the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic South African journals in the world, focuses on making journals published in South Africa available online.

Accessing specific databases

To access databases go to our homepage and then select  Databases A-Z 

The largest Tax database we are subscribing to is:

IBFD Tax Research Platform

IBFD is the world’s foremost authority on cross-border taxation. Tax practitioners from all over the world rely on its high-quality, independent tax research. Access to publications from the International Bureau of Fiscal Documentation.

 

 
   

Also known: Bloomberg Tax

To access this database, please login via VPN (download from the ICTS ( https://ictsdownloads.uct.ac.za/Downloads/Forms/Browse%20Downloads.aspx ).

Then empty your cache and click on the link again.