Skip to main content

Civil Engineering Library Guide: Databases

How to find information - a guide for Civil Engineering students

Databases

Databases collect, organise and index information from journals, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations, magazines, newspapers and other sources.

Search for articles using databases by typing in keywords that describe your topic - remember to define the topic and think about the key concepts involved. Ask your subject librarian, Gcobisa Xalabile, for help if needs be.

The databases will show lists of journal articles and other materials on your topic, but not all these articles will be available in UCT Libraries. If we do not subscribe to the journal you need, ask our Interlibrary Loans Department to obtain the article for you from another library.

Useful Databases

Look at the Help tab for online tutorials.

Evaluating e-resources

When using the internet you should be cautious as most websites don't undergo peer review. You need to evaluate the website: is it reliable? is it up to date? is it credible?

The following links will help you find out more about evaluating websites:

Information fluency: a students' resource to learn how to master information challenges
UC Berkeley Library. Evaluating web pages: techniques to apply & questions to ask
Sheridan Libraries. Evaluating information found on the internet 
Cornell University Library. Evaluating web sites: criteria and tools

Accessing databases

To access e-databases choose the Electronic Resources tab on the top menu bar of our homepage and then select either the A-Z list of Databases or Databases by Platform

It is possible to access our databases and electronic journals off-campus using EZProxy.

EBSCOhost Databases

To search different EBSCOhost databases simultaneously, choose Databases by Platform from Search & Find on the menu bar and click on  the EBSCOhost icon. You may then select multiple databases.