South African research projects in economics, science, humanities and includes masters and doctoral theses from South African Universities and technikons, as well as research works from government, non-government and private sectors.
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
Provided by the National Research Foundation, Nexus includes databases of: Current and Completed Research Projects in the Humanities and Social Sciences; Professional Associations; Forthcoming Conferences; Periodicals’ Submission Requirements; Research Organisations; Research Networking; Research Methodology Courses; and Women in Research. The database of Current and Completed Research Projects requires a password – please contact the Chancellor Oppenheimer Library on 021 650 3703/4 or the Law Library on 021 650 2708/9.
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews.
This database provides access to the dissertations and theses available university libraries worldwide. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.
For theses that are not available electronically, UCT users should request a loan via our Interlibrary Loans Department. Normally the issuing institution will lend a hard copy, but microfiche copies may be supplied.