Skip to main content

Linguistics Library Guide: Looking for Articles

Linguistics Library Guide

Where to start ...

Although PRIMO provides access to articles and chapters,  one of the most effective ways to find articles on topics related to Linguistics is to use the databases.  However, there are no specific databases for Linguistics, but we have access to general databases carrying information about linguistics.

Databases  collect, organise and index information from journals, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations, magazines and other sources.   

Search for articles using databases by typing in keywords that describe your topic.

It is possible to search across a whole range of databases at one time for articles on a particular subject.   Many of these articles will be immediately available in full text, but some only as abstracts (summaries) or citations.    Not all these articles will be available at UCT Libraries,  so you may need to ask Interlibrary Loans to obtain the article for you from another library.

 

You may access these databases on campus or from your office (Off-campus login required)  through the libraries' homepage.    Log in using your student ID and password.   You'll be taken to the main UCT Libraries web page and from there can access our electronic resources.

 

 

 

Looking for articles

You're looking for a particular article in a specific journal. 

To check whether the library subscribes to that title,  check the Journals Search link on PRIMO.       

If the title does not appear,  ask for assistance at the Information Desk.  We can check the South African Catalogue to see whether another library subscribes to the title, and a request can be placed at Interlibrary Loans for a copy to be sent for you.

 

You're looking for articles on a specific topic.

Use the libraries' databases to locate articles.   Ask at the Information Desk for advice on which would be the best databases to use or check out the tab "Linguistics Databases" in this guide.