Skip to main content

Linguistics Library Guide: Linguistics Databases and other e-resources

Linguistics Library Guide

Databases to use

Communication and Mass Media Complete  -  via EbscoHost -  abstracting and indexing for communication-related journals

MLA International Bibliography offers citations from  journal articles, books and dissertations.

JSTOR provides access to over 1000 academic journals and other scholarly content. 

Project Muse  is a collection of high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.

Taylor and Francis provides access to academic and research journals published by them.  

Academic Search Premier is a very popular databases containing mostly full text covering most academic areas of study including Linguistics.  The search can be restricted to only scholarly journals by ticking the "Peer Reviewed" button.

Humanities International Complete is a scholarly and wide-ranging database with good full text coverage on all aspects of the Humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literacy, scholarly and creative thought.    Available via EBSCOHost.

SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.  Available via EBSCOHost.

SA-E Publications holds full text of a range of South African academic journals for a variety of subjects including Linguisitics.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index on Web of Knowledge are scholarly tools used for following a chain of references.   One can use this as a database in trying to locate articles on a particular topic.  Or by typing in a name of particular researcher, you can generate a list of articles which have made reference to that researcher's work. 

PsycINFO provides access to citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects some of which relate to Linguisitics. 

ScienceDirect offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection, along with journals from a host of prestigious societies and scientific, technical and medical publishers. The full text collection of over 1 million articles from 1995 to present cover a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines in the sciences and social sciences including Linguistics.

Oxford Journals Online provides access to academic and research journals published by Oxford University Press.

ERIC  belonging to the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to more than 1,2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education literature and resources.  If available, links to full text are included.   We have access to ERIC through a number of suppliers.