Skip to main content

Classical Studies Library Guide: Finding books for Classics - shelf numbers and locations

a Library guide for Classics students

Where are your books?

  Where are your books?

The literature books are kept down a spiral staircase on level 3 of the Main library with (shelf numbers in 800s) and the history books are kept on that level too (with shelf numbers in the 900s).

There is also a separate shelf sequence for the Loeb Classical Library on level 3, red spines for Roman and green spines for Greek.

(cf. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loeb_Classical_Library)

Your language and books, in the 400s, will be on the level above the main entrance.

Your philosophy, religion and mythology books will be in the 100s and 200s, on level 5 of the Main Library.

 The major shelf numbers for your subject are:

 

180 Ancient, medieval & eastern philosophy

182 Pre-Socratic Greek philosophies

183 Socratic & related philosophies

184 Platonic philosophy

185 Aristotelian philosophy

186 Skeptic & Neoplatonic philosophies

187 Epicurean philosophy

188 Stoic philosophy

189 Medieval western philosophy

292 Greek & Roman religion

470 Italic languages; Latin

471 Classical Latin writing & phonology

472 Classical Latin etymology

473 Classical Latin dictionaries

475 Classical Latin grammar

477 Old, postclassical & Vulgar Latin

478 Classical Latin usage

479 Other Italic languages

480 Hellenic languages; classical Greek

481 Classical Greek writing & phonology

482 Classical Greek etymology

483 Classical Greek dictionaries

485 Classical Greek grammar

487 Preclassical & postclassical Greek

488 Classical Greek usage

489 Other Hellenic languages

870 Italic literatures; Latin literature

871 Latin poetry

872 Latin dramatic poetry & drama

873 Latin epic poetry & fiction

874 Latin lyric poetry

875 Latin speeches

876 Latin letters

877 Latin humour & satire

878 Latin miscellaneous writings

879 Literatures of other Italic languages

880 Hellenic literatures; classical Greek

881 Classical Greek poetry

882 Classical Greek dramatic poetry & drama

883 Classical Greek epic poetry & fiction

884 Classical Greek lyric poetry

885 Classical Greek speeches

886 Classical Greek letters

887 Classical Greek humour & satire

888 Classical Greek miscellaneous writings

930 History of ancient world to ca. 499

931 China to 420

932 Egypt to 640

933 Palestine to 70

934 India to 647

935 Mesopotamia & Iranian Plateau to 637

936 Europe north & west of Italy to ca. 499

937 Italy & adjacent territories to 476

938 Greece to 323

939 Other parts of ancient world to ca. 640

940 History of Europe

 

How to use Primo to find books

Some useful printed reference books

The Oxford companion to classical literature /

   R 880.03 OXFO

The reception of myth and mythology /

   R 913.003 PAUL

Dictionary of Greek and Latin authors and texts /

   R 913.003 PAUL

A Greek-English lexicon of the Septuagint /

   R 221.4803 MURA

The encyclopedia of ancient natural scientists

   R 509.2 ENCY

Brill’s New Pauly

   R 913.003 PAUL

The Cambridge dictionary of classical civilization /

   R 938.003 CAMB

Sex in the ancient world from A to Z /

   R 392.609 YOUN

The Oxford dictionary of classical myth and religion /

   R 292.003 OXFO

The Facts On File dictionary of classical and biblical allusions /

   R 803 FACT

Dictionary of bibliographic abbreviations found in the scholarship of classical studies and related disciplines /

   R 480.031 WELL

Who’s who in the classical world /

   R 920.038 WHOS

Ancient Greece and Rome

   R 938.003 ANCI

Encyclopedia of classical philosophy /

   R 180.3 ENCY

The Oxford classical dictionary /

   R 938.003 OXFO

Who’s who in classical mythology /

   R 292.1303 GRAN

Women of classical mythology

   R 292.1303 BELL

The Penquin dictionary of classical mythology /

 R 292.1303 GRIM

The Oxford companion to classical literature.

   R 880.03 OXFO

Room’s Classical dictionary

   R 292.1303 ROOM

Greek and Latin authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000 /

   R 880.03 GRAN

Who’s who in classical mythology /

   R 292.1303 GRAN

Who’s who in the ancient world

   R 920.03 RADI