Databases collect, organise and index information from journals, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations, magazines and other sources.
Search for articles using databases by typing in keywords that describe your topic.
It is possible to search across a whole range of databases at one time for articles on a particular subject. Many of these articles will be immediately available in full text, but some only as abstracts (summaries) or citations. Not all these articles will be available at UCT Libraries, so you may need to ask Interlibrary Loans to obtain the article for you from another library.
You may access these databases on campus or from your office (Off-campus login required) through the libraries' homepage. Log in using your student ID and Novell password. You'll be taken to the main UCT Libraries web page and from there can access our electronic resources.
To access these databases, go to the Database list on the libraries' homepage and search for the individual titles from there.
Some of the best databases for Adult Education are:-
ERIC: This database, belonging to the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to more than 1,2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education literature and resources. If available, links to full text are included. We have access to ERIC through a number of suppliers.
Education Database (formerly Proquest Education Journals): This database covers not only the literature on primary, secondary and higher education but also special education, homeschooling, adult education and other related topics. Mostly full text.
Teacher Reference Center: Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and adminstrator trade journals to assist professional educators. Available from EBSCOHost.
Academic Search Premier : a very popular databases containing mostly full text covering most academic areas of study including Education. The search can be restricted to only scholarly journals by ticking the "Peer Reviewed" button.
Humanities International Complete: Scholarly and wide-ranging database with good full text coverage on all aspects of the Humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literacy, scholarly and creative thought. Available via EBSCOHost.
SocINDEX with Full Text: a comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Avilable via EBSCOHost.
African Journals (formerly SA E-Publications) holds full text of a range of South African academic journals including Education.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index on Web of Knowledge are scholarly tools used for following a chain of references. One can use this as a database in trying to locate articles on a particular topic. Or by typing in a name of particular researcher, you can generate a list of articles which have made reference to that researcher's work.
Emerald is a fulltext database of journals dealing with Management and Leadership.
British Education Index: The free collections.
Kovisidex: Consists of selected articles according to the needs of the primary clients of the University of the Orange Free State. It also includes a wide range of reference works on the theory and practice of education from the database originally indexed by the Research Institute for Education Planning. Via Sabinet Online.
MathEduc ( Mathematics Education Database): "MathEduc (formerly MATHDI) is the only international reference database offering a world-wide overview of literature on research, theory and practice in mathematics education. MathEduc also covers education in computer science on the elementary level."
Sociology of Education Abstracts: "Provides a complete guide to the most important theorectical, methodological and policy developments relevant to the sociological study of education."
LearnTechLib (formerly EdITLib Digital Library): The Digital Library is an online resource of peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.
Sage Journals Online: Provides access to the fulltext of journals published by SAGE. Good source for Education.
SpringerLink Journals: Provides access to the fulltext of journals published by Springer. Good source for Education.
Scopus: An abstract and citation database. Good source for Education.
ScienceDirect: ScienceDirect offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection, along with journals from a host of prestigious societies and scientific, technical and medical publishers. Good source for Education.