Skip to main content

Tracking Your Academic Footprint: Tracking Yourself on Reference Management Tools, e.g. Endnote & RefWorks

A guide to tools to tracking your citations

Acknowledgements - RefWorks

Thank you to Kathy MacDonald of the Witer Learning Resource Centre at the University of Waterloo Library for the generous sharing of her workshop in 2012.   This part of our library guide is based on the University of Waterloo Library guide

Acknowledgements - Endnote

Thank you to Donna Kirking, Product Specialist: Endnote (Clarivate Analytics) for the generous sharing of her work.

Using Refworks to track your footprints

This is an overview of a process to using Refworks (or any other bibliographic management software) and any research database with citation tracking and search alert capabilities, to maintain an accurate list of your own publications and track and collect citations of your own work.      Please consult the Refworks library guide for detailed guidance. 

 

Finding Your Citations in RefWorks

Step 1:      Create a series of Master lists for Articles, Books & Book Chapters, conference proceedings, technical reports etc  using reference management software.

e.g.  A.   Master List -  Articles - 1st Author 

       B.   Master List -  Articles - Co-Author

       C.   Master List - Books and Book chapters

       D.   Master List -  Conference proceedings

       E.   Master List -  Other (which could be thesis, dissertations, posters)

Find Your Publications

Step 2:   Identify the research databases that contain your articles and that have citation index functionality. 

Step 2A:  Find your articles within a selected database.     

Export Citations to Refworks

Step 3:   Once you have identified your articles/publications, export them to Refworks.  They will appear in the last Imported folder.  Sort and place them in the appropriate Master folders.

Create Refworks subfolders for your articles

Step 4:  Create subfolders under the Master List folders in Refworks for EACH article, book, book chapter, conference proceeding or other publication and label each folder by its publication type and title.   Citing articles will be added to these folders.

Import Citing Articles to RefWorks

Step 5:  Identify the number of times each article, book, conference proceeding has been cited in a particular database.    Select all the citing articles and export to Refworks,  and then put them into the appropriate subfolder.

Set up Alerts

Step 6:  Set up Alerts for your articles in each database

You need to be alerted each time your article is cited by someone else.    If you go to the page that contains the abstract,  there usually is a Set Alert, e-alert or Feed or RSS button, which you can click on to create an alert.

(You may need to create a profile in the database.)

When you are alerted that your work has been cited,  you can export the citing article to the appropriate folder.

De-Duplicate Refworks Folders

Step 7:    Work through the Master Lists first. Once you have found all your articles, books, book chapters, conference papers,  you then de-duplicate your Master Lists , using the "Find Duplicates" option on the Organize and Share page.    

A citing article may appear in several subfolders as well as the master list.  (Occurs when a citing paper makes reference to more than one of your articles, or you have cited your own article.)       Also make sure that you have your articles in the correct Master folder.

Step 8:  Now look at each of your Subfolders and remove any duplicates.

Determine Citation Counts in RefWorks

Step 9:  Determine final citation counts for each type of publication.    

In Refworks, select the Organise and Share tab and add up the number  of citations in the subfolders under each Master List.   .

Do this for all of the subfolders under each Master List.

Monitor Alerts and Articles

Step 10:  Monitor email or RSS alerts and add new articles citing your work to the appropriate citation folders to maintain a current record of citations for each of your publications.

Step 11:  Share your folders with the Faculty Principal Co-ordinators who handle the Publication Count for your department.

Using Endnote to track your footprints

In this example Web of Science was used for the importing example in it.  However, references can be imported from many other sources, and the same method of removing duplicates can be used as in the example.

Using EndNote to Track Your Academic Footprint

https://youtu.be/B-bfKY4ncLc