Skip to main content

Hiddingh Hall Library Guide: Databases for ART research

A guide for Drama, History of Art and Fine Art students

Databases for Fine Art and History of Art Research

Don't forget to log onto EZProxy if you are using these databases off-campus.

 

Art Specific Databases:

Art & Architecture Complete (Ebsco) is a comprehensive bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 730 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications, and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes art scholars, artists, designers, college students, and general viewers.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) on Web of Science covers more than 1,700 arts and humanities journals starting from 1975. In addition, 250 major scientific and social sciences journals are also covered.

Art Index Retrospective 1928-1984 (Ebsco) provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.

ARTstor ARTstor provides access to more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities and sciences.  

Bibliography of the History of Art / International Bibliography of Art The data available on the Getty Web site comprises two databases: BHA and RILA. BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art) covers the years 1990-2007. RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art) covers 1975–1989. 

CAMIO Catalog of Art Museum Images Online: more than 95 000 works of art from prominent museums around the world. (Contact us for the username and password.)

Oxford Art Online  Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Users can simultaneously cross-search Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

 

Related Humanities Databases:

Academic OneFile (Gale) is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the social sciences, the arts, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study—including arts and literature, and women's studies.

Africa-Wide Information (Ebsco) combines databases (African Studies, South African Studies, and African Healthline) to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This resource is essential for those with an interest in African research, and information on and about Africa.

Gallica
Gallica is the digital library of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. It serves as a digital encyclopedia and consists of: printed materials (books, journals, newspapers, printed music, and other documents), graphic materials (engravings, maps, photographs, and others), and sound recordings. Gallica makes it possible to find sources that are rare, unusual, out-of-print, or difficult, if not impossible, to access. These materials are royalty-free and available free of charge when used strictly for private purposes.

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Humanities International Complete (Ebsco) is an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Humanities International Complete is an essential collection for comprehensive coverage of the humanities with full text content.

ISAP (Index to South African Periodicals)  a subject index of articles in periodicals published in South Africa. 

JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work

Project Muse  is an online database of current and back issues of peer-reviewed humanities and social sciences journals.

SA ePublications  (Sabinet) is the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic South- and Southern African journals in the world.

SA Media (Sabinet) is one of the most comprehensive press cutting services offering you access to a database consisting of more than 3 million newspaper reports and periodical articles which have been indexed on computer since 1978. (Contact us for the username and password.)

Scopus contains abstracts and citations for academic journal articles. It covers nearly 18,000 titles from over 5,000 international publishers, including coverage of 16,500 peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences (including arts and humanities).