Skip to main content

Italian Studies Library Guide: Databases

Italian Language, Literature, Film, Culture and History

Italian Studies Databases

Some of our most useful databases for students of Italian Studies are:


Academic Search Premier - via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
This is a very popular undergraduate database at UCT. It contains a lot of full text covering most academic areas of study, including language and linguistics, arts and literature. You can weed out “newsy” material and restrict your search only to scholarly journals by ticking the “Peer reviewed” button on this database.

Academic Onefile
This too is a very popular undergraduate database, containing a lot of full text on a wide range of topics, including current events, literature and art.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) (1991-present)
This is a scholarly tool used for following a chain of references. By typing in the name of a particular researcher, you can generate a list of articles which have made reference to that researcher’s work. The database can also be searched by subject, like any other database.

Eighteenth Century Collections online (ECCO)
Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

JSTOR
A completely full text database of respected journals across a range of subjects, in most cases from their first issue. JSTOR is an historical archive and will not have the most recent issues of a journal. It is a very useful core collection of prestigious journals.

JSTOR Italica

Humanities International Complete
This is a scholarly and wide-ranging database with good full text. Subjects covered include Film, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism, Literature, Performing Arts, and Philosophy. It covers only articles from English-language periodicals.

MLA International Bibliography
This is a very scholarly database, produced by the Modern Language association of America, and consists of abstracts for literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, with some full text. It holds abstracts for nearly 4,000 journals and books, in some cases back to 1963. It indexes Italian language sources as well as English. Some material may be full text.