Skip to main content

Entrepreneurship Library Guide: News Sources

News articles

In applied management, news articles are often used when there is a lack of academic literature. Newspapers show what was the current interest and thinking at a particular time. One can also use news articles to find explanations for anomalies in datasets. 

UCT Libraries subscribes to PressReader, a database that provides access to over 3000 publications from more than 55 countries (including South Africa). Access covers the most recent 6 months and content may be browsed by country, language or title. Access is via the 

Databases A-Z

In addition, UCT Libraries has access to several databases that index newspapers from around the globe. These are:

AllAfrica.com

AllAfrica.com is among the Internet's largest content sites posting over 800 stories daily in English and French and offering a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming as well as over 900,000 articles in a searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997). Strategic alliances with media and information technology companies, such as Comtex News Network, Radio France Internationale, and the BBC, extend AllAfrica's global reach.

Business Day Archive

Initially modeled after the Financial Times of London, Business Day goes beyond traditional financial reporting to cover sport,travel, books, arts and entertainment from a business-minded perspective. Its editorial integrity helps ensure that researchers find reliable information, while its popular opinion columns offer unique perspectives on current events. Now, each issue of this daily newspaper is available in a fully-searchable digital archive, giving students and researchers unprecedented access to decades of South African history.

LexisNexis Academic

A huge database of journal and news articles, together with search options for country reports and company profiles, each from a range of top-notch sources.

How to look for newspaper articles

This video demonstrates how to search for newspapers using various databases available at UCT such as: PressReader, LexisNexis Academic, SA Media, Times Digital Archive, Newspaper Source and African Newspapers

Finding newspaper articles

 This slide show demonstrates how to find a newspaper articles using LexisNexis