Skip to main content

Unpublished collections at UCT Libraries Special Collections: Some architectural collections

A brief introduction to some of the major collections of original manuscript material that are housed in the manuscripts and archives section of Special Collections.

QI

Rhodes Memorial: The architect, Sir Herbert Baker, allegedly modelled the memorial after the Greek temple at Segesta although it is actually closer to the temple of Pergamon in design. It consists of a massive staircase with 49 steps (one for each year of Rhodes's life) leading from a semi-circular terrace up to a rectangular U-shaped monument formed of pillars. The memorial is built of Cape granite quarried on Table Mountain. Read more about Sir Herbert Baker in BC206 Kendall and Earle Collection.

asl_mcm_rhodesmemorial_090

QI

The Werdmuller Centre was designed by Roelof Uytenbogaart in the 1960s and was praised as a masterpiece of modernism inspired by the work of Le Corbusier. Consult Uytenbogaart's extensive collection (BC1264) for more information about this controversial building.

J4.9.2e

Some architectural collections in our holdings

C

BC 206 : BAKER COLLECTION  A large collection of Victorian architectural drawings from the firm of Sir Herbert Baker, his partners F.Masey, F.K.Kendall, J.Morris and their successors, covering the period 1890-1930s. Includes correspondence, building specifications, photographs, newspaper clippings etc. A wide range of buildings are featured in the collection from public to domestic buildings. Cathedrals, churches, banks, schools, office buildings, foreman’s cottages and seaside villas are included; as well as sketches of designs for furniture and garden layout. Examples of some major Cape Town projects are Groote Schuur, St George’s Cathedral and Rhodes Memorial. (See also Fleming Collection BC 605 and Church of the Province of South Africa Collection). - See more.

BC 318 : Walgate and Elsworth Collection  Letters, notes, articles and photographs of buildings in which C.P.Walgate and L.A.Elsworth were involved, 1910-1960s. Includes information on the Groote Schuur Campus of the University of Cape Town; Sir Herbert Baker and Sir Edwin Lutyens. - See more.

BC 326 : Hawke and McKinlay    Architectural drawings of the Groote Schuur Campus of the University of Cape Town, 1917-1942. The firm took over this project after the suicide of the original architect, J.M.Solomon in 1921. They continued Solomon’s original concept and layout, but with many changes, in association with C.P.Walgate and in consultation with Sir Edwin Lutyens. Some of the plans have small pencil sketches of specific aspects by Solomon. - See more.

BC1413 - the Ivor Prinsloo Papers: The Ivor Prinsloo Papers cover all aspects of his work as an academic and as a professional architect and town planner from the early 1960s until the beginning of the 21st century. His personal achievements in these fields are well-documented, as are the many projects in which he was involved. The papers include a comprehensive collection of his writings, speeches and other presentations, as well as a substantial body of correspondence, both personal and professional. The numerous logbooks and workbooks are a chronological record of his career as well as a window into his private world. The collection comprises 52 archival boxes, two crates of oversized items and a number of rolled plans and drawings. - See more.

BC 206 : BAKER COLLECTION
A large collection of Victorian architectural drawings from the firm of Sir Herbert Baker, his partners F.Masey, F.K.Kendall, J.Morris and their successors, covering the period 1890-1930s. Includes correspondence, building specifications, photographs, newspaper clippings etc. A wide range of buildings are featured in the collection from public to domestic buildings. Cathedrals, churches, banks, schools, office buildings, foreman’s cottages and seaside villas are included; as well as sketches of designs for furniture and garden layout. Examples of some major Cape Town projects are Groote Schuur, St George’s Cathedral and Rhodes Memorial. (See also Fleming Collection BC 605 and Church of the Province of South Africa Collection). - See more at: http://www.lib.uct.ac.za/manuscriptsarchives/resources/subject-guide/?subjid=1#sthash.gTnuOlqN.dpuf
BC 206 : BAKER COLLECTION
A large collection of Victorian architectural drawings from the firm of Sir Herbert Baker, his partners F.Masey, F.K.Kendall, J.Morris and their successors, covering the period 1890-1930s. Includes correspondence, building specifications, photographs, newspaper clippings etc. A wide range of buildings are featured in the collection from public to domestic buildings. Cathedrals, churches, banks, schools, office buildings, foreman’s cottages and seaside villas are included; as well as sketches of designs for furniture and garden layout. Examples of some major Cape Town projects are Groote Schuur, St George’s Cathedral and Rhodes Memorial. (See also Fleming Collection BC 605 and Church of the Province of South Africa Collection). - See more at: http://www.lib.uct.ac.za/manuscriptsarchives/resources/subject-guide/?subjid=1#sthash.gTnuOlqN.dpuf
BC 206 : BAKER COLLECTION
A large collection of Victorian architectural drawings from the firm of Sir Herbert Baker, his partners F.Masey, F.K.Kendall, J.Morris and their successors, covering the period 1890-1930s. Includes correspondence, building specifications, photographs, newspaper clippings etc. A wide range of buildings are featured in the collection from public to domestic buildings. Cathedrals, churches, banks, schools, office buildings, foreman’s cottages and seaside villas are included; as well as sketches of designs for furniture and garden layout. Examples of some major Cape Town projects are Groote Schuur, St George’s Cathedral and Rhodes Memorial. (See also Fleming Collection BC 605 and Church of the Province of South Africa Collection). - See more at: http://www.lib.uct.ac.za/manuscriptsarchives/resources/subject-guide/?subjid=1#sthash.gTnuOlqN.dpuf