Skip to main content

Unpublished collections at UCT Libraries Special Collections: Some anthropological collections

A brief introduction to some of the major collections of original manuscript material that are housed in the manuscripts and archives section of Special Collections.

QI

P R Kirby built up a large collection of musical instruments made and played by indigenous Southern African groups. This collection of musical instruments is housed at the South African College of Music.

Kirby_KG032_hurdy_gurdy_2502

QI

Dorothea Bleek, daughter of philologist Wilhelm Bleek, continued the work of her father and Lucy Lloyd on the San Bushmen of southern Africa. A noted philologist in her own right, she also did work on rock art and other aspects of San culture.

Bleek D

Some anthropological collections in our holdings

D

The Bleek and Lloyd Collection (BC 151) containsOriginal documents on Bushman and Bantu philology and folk- lore, particularly compilations for a Bushman dictionary. Genealogical material regarding the Bleek family; letters to and from Dr Bleek, incl. 150 letters by Bishop JW Colenso of Natal. Photocopies of 50 letters by WHI Bleek and family to his cousin, Prof. Ernst Haeckel, Jena, Germany; also material by Miss DF Bleek and Miss Lucy Lloyd on Bushman language and folklore. See more.

The Monica and Godfrey Wilson Papers (BC880, partly restricted) relating to their field work among the Nyakyusa people of Tanganyika, and subsequent publication of that research. Papers relating to Godfrey Wilson's fieldwork among the miners in Broken Hill, Northern Rhodesia. Papers relating to Monica Wilson's research into Langa and her academic career, particularly at UCT. These include: administrative papers, papers recording her involvement in the Academic Freedom Committee and Open Universities. Collection also includes the papers of Monica Wilson's parents, David and Jessie Hunter, missionaries at Lovedale. See more.

 

. Original documents on Bushman and Bantu philology and folk- lore, particularly compilations for a Bushman dictionary. Genealogical material regarding the Bleek family; letters to and from Dr Bleek, incl. 150 letters by Bishop JW Colenso of Natal. Photocopies of 50 letters by WHI Bleek and family to his cousin, Prof. Ernst Haeckel, Jena, Germany; also material by Miss DF Bleek and Miss Lucy Lloyd on Bushman language and folklore. Several hundred letters by Bleek to his parents, and to Miss Jemima Lloyd (later Mrs WHI Bleek) and letters from Miss Lloyd to Bleek. This correspondence dates between 1848 and 1849 and 1852 and 1853 and was mailed from Berlin. - See more at: http://www.lib.uct.ac.za/manuscriptsarchives/resources/digital-resources/finding-aids/?showid=2467#sthash.EfSVqphi.dpuf
. Original documents on Bushman and Bantu philology and folk- lore, particularly compilations for a Bushman dictionary. Genealogical material regarding the Bleek family; letters to and from Dr Bleek, incl. 150 letters by Bishop JW Colenso of Natal. Photocopies of 50 letters by WHI Bleek and family to his cousin, Prof. Ernst Haeckel, Jena, Germany; also material by Miss DF Bleek and Miss Lucy Lloyd on Bushman language and folklore. Several hundred letters by Bleek to his parents, and to Miss Jemima Lloyd (later Mrs WHI Bleek) and letters from Miss Lloyd to Bleek. This correspondence dates between 1848 and 1849 and 1852 and 1853 and was mailed from Berlin. - See more at: http://www.lib.uct.ac.za/manuscriptsarchives/resources/digital-resources/finding-aids/?showid=2467#sthash.EfSVqphi.dpuf
. Original documents on Bushman and Bantu philology and folk- lore, particularly compilations for a Bushman dictionary. Genealogical material regarding the Bleek family; letters to and from Dr Bleek, incl. 150 letters by Bishop JW Colenso of Natal. Photocopies of 50 letters by WHI Bleek and family to his cousin, Prof. Ernst Haeckel, Jena, Germany; also material by Miss DF Bleek and Miss Lucy Lloyd on Bushman language and folklore. Several hundred letters by Bleek to his parents, and to Miss Jemima Lloyd (later Mrs WHI Bleek) and letters from Miss Lloyd to Bleek. This correspondence dates between 1848 and 1849 and 1852 and 1853 and was mailed from Berlin. - See more at: http://www.lib.uct.ac.za/manuscriptsarchives/resources/digital-resources/finding-aids/?showid=2467#sthash.EfSVqphi.dpuf
. Original documents on Bushman and Bantu philology and folk- lore, particularly compilations for a Bushman dictionary. Genealogical material regarding the Bleek family; letters to and from Dr Bleek, incl. 150 letters by Bishop JW Colenso of Natal. Photocopies of 50 letters by WHI Bleek and family to his cousin, Prof. Ernst Haeckel, Jena, Germany; also material by Miss DF Bleek and Miss Lucy Lloyd on Bushman language and folklore. Several hundred letters by Bleek to his parents, and to Miss Jemima Lloyd (later Mrs WHI Bleek) and letters from Miss Lloyd to Bleek. This correspondence dates between 1848 and 1849 and 1852 and 1853 and was mailed from Berlin. - See more at: http://www.lib.uct.ac.za/manuscriptsarchives/resources/digital-resources/finding-aids/?showid=2467#sthash.EfSVqphi.dpuf
BC 206 : BAKER COLLECTION
A large collection of Victorian architectural drawings from the firm of Sir Herbert Baker, his partners F.Masey, F.K.Kendall, J.Morris and their successors, covering the period 1890-1930s. Includes correspondence, building specifications, photographs, newspaper clippings etc. A wide range of buildings are featured in the collection from public to domestic buildings. Cathedrals, churches, banks, schools, office buildings, foreman’s cottages and seaside villas are included; as well as sketches of designs for furniture and garden layout. Examples of some major Cape Town projects are Groote Schuur, St George’s Cathedral and Rhodes Memorial. (See also Fleming Collection BC 605 and Church of the Province of South Africa Collection). - See more at: http://www.lib.uct.ac.za/manuscriptsarchives/resources/subject-guide/?subjid=1#sthash.gTnuOlqN.dpuf
BC 206 : BAKER COLLECTION
A large collection of Victorian architectural drawings from the firm of Sir Herbert Baker, his partners F.Masey, F.K.Kendall, J.Morris and their successors, covering the period 1890-1930s. Includes correspondence, building specifications, photographs, newspaper clippings etc. A wide range of buildings are featured in the collection from public to domestic buildings. Cathedrals, churches, banks, schools, office buildings, foreman’s cottages and seaside villas are included; as well as sketches of designs for furniture and garden layout. Examples of some major Cape Town projects are Groote Schuur, St George’s Cathedral and Rhodes Memorial. (See also Fleming Collection BC 605 and Church of the Province of South Africa Collection). - See more at: http://www.lib.uct.ac.za/manuscriptsarchives/resources/subject-guide/?subjid=1#sthash.gTnuOlqN.dpuf
BC 206 : BAKER COLLECTION
A large collection of Victorian architectural drawings from the firm of Sir Herbert Baker, his partners F.Masey, F.K.Kendall, J.Morris and their successors, covering the period 1890-1930s. Includes correspondence, building specifications, photographs, newspaper clippings etc. A wide range of buildings are featured in the collection from public to domestic buildings. Cathedrals, churches, banks, schools, office buildings, foreman’s cottages and seaside villas are included; as well as sketches of designs for furniture and garden layout. Examples of some major Cape Town projects are Groote Schuur, St George’s Cathedral and Rhodes Memorial. (See also Fleming Collection BC 605 and Church of the Province of South Africa Collection). - See more at: http://www.lib.uct.ac.za/manuscriptsarchives/resources/subject-guide/?subjid=1#sthash.gTnuOlqN.dpuf