Skip to main content

Unpublished collections at UCT Libraries Special Collections: Some literary collections

A brief introduction to some of the major collections of original manuscript material that are housed in the manuscripts and archives section of Special Collections.

QI

C Louis Leipoldt was a prolificwriter of novels, plays, stories, children's books, cookbooks and a travel diary. He is numbered amongst the greatest of the Afrikaner poets. Find out more about him here.

BC94_F1.1

Some literary collections in our holdings

BC1032: The Richard Rive Collection

Richard Rive used his literary talent to highlight the plight of Black people in South Africa, and fell foul of the censors, having some of his writings banned. The Collection consists of personal papers, including a comprehensive personal scrapbook of photographs, newsclips etc, manuscripts and typescripts of some of his writings, research material for his PhD thesis on Olive Schreiner, as well as personal memorabilia.

 

RR

 

BC 16: Olive Schreiner Collection

Olive Emilie Albertina Schreiner(1855-1920) was one of the pioneer writers in the field of South African English literature. A feminist and socialist and social theorist, Olive Schreiner was one of the most important and radical social commentators of her day. Her published writings include novels, allegories and influential works of social theory, among them The Story of An African Farm, Undine, From Man to Man, Dreams, Dream Life and Real Life, Trooper Peter Halket of Mashonaland, The Political Situation, Closer Union, and Woman and Labour. Her letters are available online at The Olive Schreiner Letters Online project website.