Skip to main content

Unpublished collections at UCT Libraries Special Collections: Some Links

A brief introduction to some of the major collections of original manuscript material that are housed in the manuscripts and archives section of Special Collections.

Some useful links

Wits Historical Papers

Like UCT, a major holder of non-public records. Many of their finding aids are available on their Web site:

 

South African History Archive

Its Web site states that: The South African History Archive (SAHA) is an independent non-governmental organization dedicated to documenting and supporting the struggles for justice in South Africa.

 

The Campbell Collections: University of Kwazulu-Natal

 

University of Fort Hare: Liberation movement archives

 

National Archives of South Africa

NAAIRS (National Automated Archival Information Retrieval System)

This is a searchable database of records in the National and Provincial Archives. It also contains information about collections in university manuscripts departments and other repositories. These entries give broad details about such collections and for more detailed information check on the websites of the repositories (or email them).

 

DISA/ALUKA: Struggles for freedom in Southern Africa

A database of full-text archival sources on the liberation struggle in South Africa. This database includes 44 anti-apartheid periodicals.

http://www.aluka.org/action/doBrowse?sa=3&sa_sel=

 

 

 

SEARCHABLE DATABASES OF MATERIAL OUTSIDE SOUTH AFRICA

 

Access to Archives (A2A), United Kingdom

The A2A database contains catalogues of archives held across England and dating from the 900s to the present day and may have information about records relating to Southern Africa that are held in 414 UK repositories. According to the database it contains over 10 million records.

http://www.a2a.org.uk/

 

Archives hub

A national gateway to descriptions of archives in UK universities and colleges.

http://www.archiveshub.ac.uk/index.html

 

The National Archives of the United Kingdom

Note: searches of this database will also search the A2A database.

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/

 

AIM25

AIM25: project to provide electronic access to collection level descriptions of the archives of over ninety higher education institutions and learned societies within the greater London area

http://www.aim25.ac.uk/

 

African Studies Centre, Leiden, Netherlands

Not strictly archival, but their online web dossiers (bibliographies) on a range of subjects can provide very useful guides to relevant sources:

http://www.ascleiden.nl/Library/Webdossiers/

 

Nordic Africa Institute, Uppsala, Sweden

Nordic Documentation on the Liberation Struggle in Southern Africa

http://www.nai.uu.se/