Skip to main content

Chemical Engineering Library Guide: Home

A library guide for chemical engineering students.

News form Chemistry World

This news feed appears here with the permission of The Royal Society of Chemistry.

About

About this guide:

The aim of this guide is to help chemical engineering students find information in the library and its electronic resources. 

It is not intended to be comprehensive, but rather a starting point for your research.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me for further assistance.  
Send me an email at: gcobisa.xalabile@uct.ac.za

Getting started:

Before you begin searching for information, you should thoroughly understand the topic you are researching.

Technical dictionaries will provide definitions of unfamiliar terms, while encyclopedias give explanations and succinct overviews of topics. Engineering handbooks provide a wealth of basic information and specific data for the fields they cover.  In the Reference Books tab of this guide, you will find links to electronic reference works as well as information about some of the dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks in the main library's Reference Collection.

The Finding Books and Finding Journals tabs introduce you to ALEPH (the Libraries' online catalogue) and our e-Journal Portal respectively. These are the tools you need to find books and journals in the Libraries. The dropdown menus on these tabs take you to the slideshows: How to find a book and How to find a journal.

To find out how to search the world's engineering literature for journal articles, conference papers, and other documents, click on the Finding Journal Articles and Databases tabs. For more information about your most important databases, click on the SciFinder and Ei Compendex tabs.

Theses can provide detailed information, especially for postgraduate students. Find out more in the Theses tab.

For a list of writing and style guides, and information about citing the documents you use in your research, click on the Writing and Referencing tab.  This tab also introduces you to RefWorks.

The Off-Campus Access tab introduces EZProxy for accessing electronic resources from off campus, and the Web Resources tab provides links to some useful chemical engineering web sites, and also offers guidelines for evaluating information you find on the internet.