Skip to main content

Chemistry Library Guide: Home

A library guide for chemistry students.

Related Subject Guides

Other Subject Guides in this series may also be of interest:

Chemical Engineering Guide

Library Information

Ask a Librarian 

Ask a librarian is our online reference service. Have a quick question? Ask us.

Database by platform

Great for exploring a subject area or specific topic. These platforms aggregate multiple databases, searching multiple sources through a single search. Remember to use the off campus login if you are using any of the databases from off campus. 

Databases (A-Z)

An A-Z list of all the databases at UCT Libraries. If you are looking for a specific database, have a look whether we have access to it.

Interlibrary Loans

The Interlibrary Loans department will source research materials that are not available at UCT from other libraries in South Africa or beyond.  All UCT staff and students may use this service. There is no cost for items obtained in South Africa.

YouTube

Visit our YouTube channel for training videos on library resources.

Welcome

Welcome to the Chemistry subject guide. Within this guide, you will find useful information to help you make the most of the resources that the library has to offer. You can use this guide to explore resources relating to Chemistry by using the above tabs to find what you are looking for.  

If you have any questions about the library or need any assistance in finding the information you need, please feel free to contact me by email: pv.head@uct.ac.za

 

Navigating UCT LIbraries' Home page

Chemistry on the web

American Chemical Society, provides information about ACS publications, chemistry conferences, education in chemistry, news, careers in chemistry, and more.

ChemiCool gives basic information about  the chemical elements and the periodic table, as well as an online chemical dictionary.

ChemSpider is a free service from the Royal Society of Chemistry, providing access to millions of chemical structures and integration to many other online services. 

ChemWeb.com provides access to the information chemists need to enhance their research, product development, self-development, education, and/or their businesses in Chemistry and related disciplines.

The Internet Chemist: is an online tutorial that recommends key internet resources for education and research in chemistry, and offers advice on internet searching and website evaluation.

Learn Chemistry, from the Royal Society of Chemistry, provides resources to help you learn about the fundamentals and applications of chemistry.

Royal Society of Chemistry provides information about conferences, careers, publications, databases, and other chemistry resources.

SOLV-DB is a database (by the National Center for Manufacturing Sciences) of organic solvents giving physical properties and links to environmental and health & safety data. 

Theoretical Chemistry: a Self-Guided Introduction for College Students, by Professor Jack Simons of the University of Utah.