LibGuides: Chemical Engineering Library Guide: Reference Books

The Reference Collection

Selected handbooks

Lange’s Handbook of chemistry by edited by James G. Speight.
Call Number: DSR 540 LANG
ISBN: 0071432205
An enormous compendium of chemical data giving properties of over 4000 organic compounds and 1400 inorganic compounds.
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics : a ready-reference book of chemical and physical data.
Call Number: DSR 540.212 CRC
ISBN: 9781439820773
This vast compilation of data contains everything from atomic abundances to the zinc content of roasted raccoon!
CRC handbook of thermophysical and thermochemical data by David R. Lide, Henry V. Kehiaian.
Call Number: DSR 541.360212 LIDE
ISBN: 0849301971
Tables of the most important thermodynamic properties (and some related transport properties) for a range of pure substances and mixtures.
Thermochemical properties of inorganic substances by O. Knacke, O. Kubaschewski, K. Hesselmann, eds.
Call Number: DSR 541.360212 THER
Tables of thermochemical parameters of more than 2000 substances.
Bretherick's handbook of reactive chemical hazards. 7th ed. by edited by Peter Urben ; assisted by M.J. Pitt.
Call Number: DSR 541.39 BRET
ISBN: 9780123725639
A compilation of the risks (such as toxicity, fire, or explosion) resulting from chemical reactions gone astray, this book is designed to improve safety in laboratories as well as chemical manufacturing plants.
Polymer handbook by edited by J. Brandrup et al.
Call Number: DSR 547.84 POLY
ISBN: 0471166286
A one-stop reference bringing together all the data needed in theoretical and experimental polymer research.
Perry’s chemical engineers’ handbook by editor-in-chief, Don W. Green
Call Number: DSR 660 PERR
ISBN: 0071422943
The definitive chemical engineering reference for more than half a century, this handbook covers of all aspects of the field - from the fundamentals to details on computer applications and control.
Rules of thumb for chemical engineers : a manual of quick, accurate solutions to everyday process engineering problems by Carl R. Branan, editor.
Call Number: DSR 660 RULE
ISBN: 0750678569
This convenient volume provides engineers with hundreds of common sense techniques, shortcuts, and calculations to quickly and accurately solve day-to-day design, operations, and equipment problems.
Handbook of chemical and environmental engineering calculations by edited by Joseph P. Reynolds, John S. Jeris, Louis Theodore.
Call Number: DSR 660.0151 HAND
ISBN: 9780470139028
This handbook provides approximately 600 real-world, practical solutions to environmental problems that involve chemical engineering.
Handbook of chemical engineering calculations by Nicholas P. Chopey, editor
Call Number: DSR 660.0212 HAND
ISBN: 0071362622
This resource provides step-by-step procedures for performing a wide array of chemical engineering calculations - along with fully worked-out examples. that help you avoid costly errors. Includes practical techniques that help you solve problems manually or by setting up computer-based procedures.
Handbook of chemical processing equipment by Nicholas P. Cheremisinoff.
Call Number: DSR 660.283 CHER
ISBN: 0750671262
This handbook provides descriptions of the working principles, intended applications, selection criteria and fundamental design principles for equipment used throughout the process and allied chemical industries.
Handbook of separation techniques for chemical engineers by Philip A. Schweitzer, editor-in-chief.
Call Number: DSR 660.2842 HAND
ISBN: 0070570612
This book offers a complete compilation of techniques for separating liquid-liquid mixtures, liquids with dissolved solids, gas vapour mixtures, solid-liquid mixtures and gas solid mixtures, including techniques such as melt crystallization, solid-solid separations and barrier infiltration of hot gases.
Physical and thermodynamic properties of pure chemicals by T.E. Daubert et al.
Call Number: DSR 661.00212 PHYS
ISBN: 1560328169
A compilation of physical, thermodynamic, and transport property data for chemicals of importance in industrial chemical processes.
(Kept at the Reference Desk)
Handbook of extractive metallurgy by edited by Fathi Habashi
Call Number: DSR 669 HAND
ISBN: 9783527287925
This handbook presents data on metals, their extraction, their alloys, and their most important inorganic compounds. For each metal there is a clear description of how a it is extracted industrially from different raw materials, and on what its important alloys and compounds are.
ASM handbook / Metals Handbook
Call Number: DSR 669 META
ISBN: 0871703777
Provides a vast amount of information on the properties, processing and applications of metals and alloys.

Reference Materials

The main library's Reference Collection (on your left as you enter the Main Level) contains a wealth of information for chemical engineers. To find definitions of unfamiliar terms, look in technical dictionaries such as the McGraw-Hill dictionary of science & technology or Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary.

Encyclopaedias and handbooks can provide both succinct overviews of topics as well as detailed explanations. The engineering handbooks are especially useful for finding comprehensive coverage of engineering topics as well as tables of data.

We also have access to a number of excellent online reference works such as Kirk Othmer's encyclopaedia of chemical technology ... a complete list appears below.

Note that reference materials must be used in the Library as they may not be borrowed. Their shelf numbers have the prefix R or DSR.

If you can't find the information you need, please just ask at the Information Desk ... we are here to help you!

e-Reference: online resources

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, this encyclopedia presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition) This link opens in a new window
This resource contains 901 tables of physical properties of interest to scientists and engineers.
Reagent Chemicals, 10th edition This link opens in a new window
Reagent Chemicals, 10th Edition provides specifications and analytical procedures to ensure the quality of your chemicals. Developed by the ACS Committee on Analytical Reagents, the new edition includes general physical properties and analytical uses for all reagent chemicals--over 500 in all--as well as thirty-two new reagents and three new classes of standard grade reference materials.
Essential Practices for Managing Chemical Reactivity Hazards This link opens in a new window
This book is useful for safety managers, chemists, and engineers alike, helping both small and large institutions identify, address, and manage chemical reactivity hazards.
International Tables for Crystallography This link opens in a new window
Articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research its applications. This resource covers symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals.

Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias

Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary by Richard J. Lewis
Call Number: DSR 540.3 COND
ISBN: 9780471768654
A compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena.
The Merck index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals by Maryadele J. O'Neil, editor
Call Number: DSR 540.3 MERC
ISBN: 9780911910001
A one-volume compendium of chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Each entry is a concise description of a single substance, including human and veterinary drugs; monoclonal antibodies; natural products; agriculturals, pesticides and herbicides; food additives and supplements; dyes, and environmentally significant substances. Includes scientific and patent literature references.
Ashford’s dictionary of industrial chemicals by compiled by Robert D. Ashford.
Call Number: DSR 660.03 ASHF
ISBN: 095226742X
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology by executive editor, Jacqueline I. Kroschwitz
Call Number: DSR 660.03 KIRK
ISBN: 9780471526926
Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, this encyclopedia presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed. Also available online.
Ullmann’s encyclopedia of industrial chemistry
Call Number: DSR 660.03 ULLM
ISBN: 3527303855
A trustworthy compilation on everything that relates to the chemical industry, be it processes, chemicals, products, analytical chemistry, pharmaceuticals, biotechnology...and more, this encyclopedia contains over 800 articles written by international experts, more than 15000 tables, 25000 figures, and countless literature and patent references guide you to the relevant and accessible primary literature.
Encyclopedia of chemical processing by edited by Sunggyu Lee.
Call Number: DSR 660.28003 ENCY
ISBN: 0824755634
Coverage in this reference extends from fundamental aspects of industrial catalytic processes to polymerization processes. More than 400 entries cover synthetic reactions, catalyst and reactor choice, process simulation, energy integration, pinch design and more. The text details emerging technologies such as plasma polymerization and supercritical fluid technology.
Encyclopedia of separation science by editor-in-chief, Ian D. Wilson
Call Number: DSR 660.284203 ENCY
ISBN: 0122267702
A comprehensive work covering the whole of separation theory, methods, and techniques. Written by experts from both academic and industrial settings worldwide, this title includes 544 articles, covering 12 methods of separation: Affinity/Biotechnology, Centrifugation, Chromatography, Crystallization, Distillation, Electrophoresis, Extraction, Flotation, Ion exchange, Mass spectrometry, Membrane separations, and Particle size separation.
Encyclopedia of catalysis by István T. Horváth [editor-in-chief]
Call Number: DSR 660.299503 ENCY
ISBN: 0471241830
This six volume encyclopedia covers the most significant aspects of homogenous, heterogeneous, asymmetric, biomimetic, and biological catalysis, including the principles of catalysis; the scope of catalytic reactions; the preparation, characterization, and use of catalysts; the modeling of catalytic processes; and related reaction engineering techniques.
The encyclopedia of bioprocess technology : fermentation, biocatalysis, and bioseparation by [edited by] Michael C. Flickinger, Stephen W. Drew.
Call Number: DSR 660.603 ENCY
ISBN: 0471138223
This five-volume set presents the applications and established theories in biotechnology--focusing on industrial applications of fermentation, biocatalysis and bioseparation.