Skip to main content

Environmental and Geographical Science Library Guide: Maps

How to find information - a library guide for Environmental and Geographical Science students at UCT.

Finding maps: how to search for maps

Finding maps

Search for maps using Primo and refine your search by selecting maps from Resource Type refining option.


E-Reference

The Encyclopedia of GIS is accessible via the UCT Libraires E-Reference website


Databases

Some databases provide access to map images, records or metadata.

1. Browse for maps in the database ARTstor.

 

2Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 from Arhives Direct is a database that includes maps: "The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c.1820 and 1970, ... contains papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices... These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties".

 

3. ArchiveGrid is a beta database that includes maps and other primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world. 

Maps and GIS

At UCT, GIS (Geographical Information Science) falls under Geomatics in the School of Architecture, Planning & Geomatics and is located within the Engineering & Built Environment Faculty.

See the Geomatics website and this LibGuide on Geomatics for more information.

The Built Environment Library has access to Cape Town Municipality GIS Data.

Map Collections @ UCT Libraries

Print map collections are housed within the Main Library at the Government Publications Library and the Special Collections Library.

 

Government Publications LibraryThese collections are maps that were published by government bodies. Speak to the Librarian at the desk for more information & visit their website.

 

 African Studies Collection: The African Studies Collection falls under Special Collections. Find MAPS in this collection. These collections include maps that are unique, antique, and historical. Speak to the Librarian at the desk for more information & visit their website.