How to Reference Maps, Atlases, Air photos and Geospatial Data
Adapted with kind permission from BROCK UNIVERSITY MAP LIBRARY
by Linda Kelly (UCT Libraries) - Aug 2013, revised Dec 2013
With acknowledgements to Thomas Slingsby (GIS Lab), Dianne Steele (UCT Libraries), Karin De Jager (UCT LISC)
UCT Harvard Referencing Style Format
1. Maps, Atlases & Air photos 2. Geospatial Data
1.1 Single Map 2.1 Geospatial Data
1.2 Atlas Citation 2.2 Map created with GIS software
1.3 Map in Topographic Series 2.3 Sattellite Imagery
1.4 Map in Thematic Series 2.4 Orthoimagery
1.5 Map in Book 2.5 Digital Static Map
1.6 Map in Atlas 2.6 Interactive Map created from a Website
1.7 Air Photo 2.7 Map generated using Google Earth
2.8 Map generated using Google Maps
1.How to Reference Maps, Atlases, Air photos and Geospatial Data
Basic Form:
Author. Date. Title [Format]. Edition (if indicated). Scale. Place of publication: Publisher.
Example:
University of Cape Town. Southern Africa Labour and Development Research Unit. 1975. Squatter settlements and Cape Peninsula geography [Map]. Scale 1:1 000. Cape Town, South Africa: Southern Africa Labour and Development Research Unit, University of Cape Town.
Basic Form:
Author. Date. Title. Edition (if indicated). Place of publication: Publisher.
Example:
Mendelsohn, J., Jarvis, A., Roberts, C. and Robertson, T., 2002. Atlas of Namibia: a portrait of the land and its people. Cape Town, South Africa: David Phillip Publishers.
1.3 Map in a Topographic Series
Basic Form:
Author. Date. Sheet title, number [Format]. Edition. Scale. Series title. Place of publication: Publisher.
Example:
Chief Directorate. Surveys and Mapping. 2003. Cape Town, 3318CD [Map]. Edition 9. Scale 1:50,000. Mowbray, South Africa: Chief Directorate of Surveys and Mapping.
Note:
In this example a government map was used. Therefore, as an author, in principle, use the official name of the country followed by the full name of the government department. However, in order to avoid a long list of references under “South Africa”, shorten the references to just the name of department.
Basic Form:
Author. Date. Sheet title, number [Format]. Edition (if indicated). Scale. Series title. Place of publication: Publisher.
Example:
Grobbelaar, D.A. 2007. Pofadder,2918 [Map]. Scale 1:25,000. 1:250 000 Geological Series. Pretoria, South Africa: Council for Geoscience.
1.5 Map in a Book
Basic Form:
Map Author (if different than book). Date (if different from book). Map title [Format]. Scale. In: Book Author (if different from map). Date (book’s date). Book title. Edition. Book Editor(s). Place of Publication: Publisher. Page (if numbered).
Example:
Matriculation pass rates, Port Elizabeth, 1998. Scale [ca. 1:200 000]. In: Christopher, A. J. 2001. The atlas of of changing South Africa. London, Britain: Routledge. 237.
Basic Form:
Map Author (if different than atlas). Map date (if different than atlas). Map title [Format]. Scale. In: Atlas Author. Atlas date. Atlas title. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher, page.
Example:
Collins Geo. Access to Water [Map]. Scale [ca.1:100,000,000]. In: The World Bank. Atlas of Global Development. 3rd ed. Bishopbriggs, Glasgow: HarperCollins, 110-111.
1.7 Air Photo (refer to individual flight line indexes)
(refer to individual flight line indexes)
Basic Form:
Source. Date. [Title] [Format]. Scale. Line/roll number. Photo number. Place of publication: Publisher.
Example:
National Geospatial Information. 1974 [Oudshoorn]. 1:10 000. Flight 736. Photo’s 736_010_01553 – 736_010_01558. Cape Town, Western Cape: Department of Rural Development & Land Reform.
2. How to Reference Geospatial Data
2.1 Geospatial Data (GIS data acquired from an electronic source)
a) Basic Form from website:
Author/Publisher. Year. Database Title [Format, month dd]. version. Place of publication: Publisher. Available: Name of site, URL accessed date [yyyy, month dd].
Example:
Natural Earth Data. 2013. Coastline [Shape file, October 8]. v 3.0.0. Natural Earth Data. Available: Natural Earth Data, http://www.naturalearthdata.com/downloads/10m-physical-vectors/10m-coastline/ [2013, November 27].
b) Basic Form from local access:
Data Title [Format]. Date. Place of publication: Publisher. Available: Local access information accessed date [yyyy, month dd].
Example:
Cape Town Suburbs [shape file]. 2013. Cape Town, South Africa: City of Cape Town, 2009. Available: UCT GIS Laboratory Access, I:\CMA\2009\Planning_Suburbs.shp [2013, August 8].
2.2 Map created using GIS Software (a map you prepared in ArcGIS using multiple data layers)
Basic Form:
Name of person who generated map. Year. Map Title [Map, Month, dd]. Scale. Data layers publisher and names [Computer files]. Place of publication. Using: computer software name [Type of software]. Version or edition. Software manufacturer location: Software manufacturer name, date of software release/copyright.
Example:
Holmes, S. Study Area: UTM 520 430 [Map, March 18]. Scale 1:7,000. Data layers: Regional Municipality of Niagara: roads, points of interest and building footprints; Niagara Peninsula Conservation Authority: rivers, waterbodies and drainage basins; DMTI Spatial: transmission and railways lines; Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources: SOLRIS 2002 [Computer files]. Brock University, St. Catharines, ON. Using: ArcGIS for Desktop Advanced [GIS]. Version 10.1. Redlands, CA: Esri, 2012.
Basic Form:
Author. Date of image collection. Title or Scene ID [Satellite imagery, Month dd], Satellite and sensor name, processing level. Place of publication: Publisher.
Example:
GeoEye. 2009. GeoEye-1 scene 2009073116134721603031606123 [Satellite imagery, July 31], Standard Geometrically Corrected, Pansharpened, DRA-off. Aurora, CO: eMap International.
2.4 Orthoimagery – see Geospatial Data
2.5 Digital Static Map (Map from a website or other digital collection that cannot be altered)
a) Basic Form from website:
Author. Date. Map Title [Format]. Scale. “Title of website”. Available: URL [yyyy, Month dd].
Example:
Johnson, A.J. 1860. Africa [Map]. Scale 1:22 176 000. “David Rumsey Map Collection”. Available: http://www.davidrumsey.com/luna/servlet/detail/RUMSEY~8~1~2542~320022:Johnson-s-Africa-By-Johnson-&-Brown?sort=Pub_List_No_InitialSort [2013, August 21].
b) Basic Form from local collection:
Map Title [Format, Month dd]. Date. Scale, if known. Atlas Name [Format]. Place of publication: Publisher. Available: Local access information [accessed date].
Example:
Land Use Strategy: Territorial Sheet 5089 [Map, June]. 1999. Scale 1:250,000. Ontario’s Living Legacy: approved land use strategy [Electronic resource]. Peterborough, ON: Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources. Available: Brock University Map Library Controlled Access. Map PC G 3462 N67 G4 1999 O583. [2013, August 21].
2.6 Interactive Map created from a Website
(a map you generated from a web site, by adding, removing, or customizing layers, i.e. ArcGIS online, etc.)
Basic Form:
Author. date of imagery. Title of map created [Format]. Layers used. Scale. Name of person who generated map; using “Title of Website”. Available: URL [accessed date yyyy, month dd].
Examples:
Regional Municipality of Niagara. (2010 Imagery). Niagara-on-the-Lake Tourism [Map]. Layers used: Wineries, Historic sites. Scale 1:80,000. Generated by Colleen Beard; using “Niagara Navigator”. Available: http://maps.niagararegion.ca/Navigator/ [2013, March 21].
ESRI. Impacts of Europe’s Changing Climate [Map]. Layers used: Change in river flow droughts severity 1962-1990, Observed changes in annual precipitation between 1961-2006, Observed temperature change over Europe 1976-2006. Scale [ca. 1:20,000,000]. Generated by Sarah Holmes; using “ArcGIS Online”. Available: http://www.arcgis.com/home/webmap/viewer.html?useExisting=1 [ 2013, April 2].
2.7 Map generated using Google Earth
Basic Form:
Google Earth version. date of imagery. Your Map Title or geographic location. Coordinates, Eye alt. Layer titles. Imagery attributions. Available: URL [yyyy, month dd].
Example:
Google Earth Pro 6.2.1.6014 (beta). (October 5, 2011). Niagara Region, ON Canada.
43° 02' 26.22"N, 79° 13' 50.11"W, Eye alt 36 mi. Borders and labels; places layers. NOAA, DigitalGlobe 2013. Available: http://www.google.com/earth/index.html [2013, April 1].
2.8 Map generated using Google Maps
a) Basic form when doing a print screen version, i.e. similar to photocopying from a book
Google Maps. Date. Town, country or appropriate title. Available: URL [date accessed yyyy, month dd].
Example:
Google Maps. 2013. Claremont, Cape Town, South Africa. Available: http://goo.gl/maps/aoPqq [2013, November 27].
b) Basic form when using Google Maps as a tool or application, i.e. creating a tag.
Author. Date. Town, country or appropriate title. Publishing service, i.e Google Maps. Available: URL [date accessed yyyy, month dd].
Example:
Kelly. 2013. Special Collections, UCT Libraries. Google Maps. Available: http://goo.gl/maps/yhRZe [2013, November 15].
Note: Add the publishing service, i.e. Google Maps, after the title to acknowledge the web mapping service application used to generate the tag.
Sources:
Kollen, C., Wangyal, S. & Larsgaard, M. 2010. Cartographic citations: a style guide. 2nd ed. Chicago: Map and Geography Round Table, American Library Association.
Ohio Westlayan University Libraries. 2013. Citing maps. Available: http://library.owu.edu/citing222.htm [2013, August 21].
RMIT University. 2013. Harvard referencing guide for visual material.Available: http://rmit.libguides.com/content.php?pid=220068&sid=1827564 [2013, August 21].
University of Maryland. Global Landcover Facility. 2013. Landsat imagery. Available: http://glcf.umd.edu/data/landsat/ [2013, August 21].
Woods, A. 2012. ACMLA recommended best practices in citation of cartographic materials. Bibliographic Control Committee, Association of Canadian Map Libraries and Archives. Available: http://www.acmla.org/docs/ACMLA_BestPracticesCitations.pdf [2013, August 21].
Download the PDF version of the map guide "How to reference Maps, Atlases, Air photos & Geospatial Data" or see the web version in the box above.