Environmental and Geographical Science Library Guide: Scientific and technical writing guides

A six-step model offers invaluable assistance for selecting a topic, searching the literature, developing arguments, surveying the literature, critiquing the literature, and writing the literature review. Book description from Google Books: http://books.google.com/books?id=wx4mAQAAIAAJ&source=gbs_ViewAPI

"The Literature Review" is a concise step-by-step guide to conducting a literature search and writing up the literature review chapter in Masters dissertations and in Ph.D. and professional doctorate theses. Diana Ridley describes how to carry out a literature review in a systematic, methodical way, providing useful strategies for efficient reading, conducting searches, organising information and writing the review itself. Examples of best and worst practice drawn from real literature reviews are included throughout to demonstrate how the guidance can be put into practice. This is an accessible, pragmatic and highly practical resource that will be welcomed by postgraduate students of any discipline. Book description from Nielsen BookData Online.

Want to make the most of your talent for science? This practical guide for students, postdoctorates and professors offers a unique stepwise approach to help you develop your expertise and become a more productive scientist. Covering topics from giving presentations and writing effectively to prioritising your workload, it provides guidance to enhance your skills and combine them with those of others to your mutual benefit. Learn how to maintain your passion for science, inspire others to develop their abilities and motivate yourself to plan effectively, focus on your goals and even optimise funding opportunities. With numerous valuable tips, real-life stories, novel questionnaires and exercises for self-reflection, this must-read guide provides everything you need to take responsibility for your own personal and professional development. Book description from Nielsen BookData Online. http://www.nielsenbookdataonline.com/bdol/

English language - Textbooks for foreign speakers
English language - Rhetoric - Problems, exercises, etc
Academic writing - Problems, exercises, etc
Research - Problems, exercises, etc

A resource for students and supervisors alike, the topics covered are related to the management of postgraduate research studies: the development of a successful research proposal (with examples); research resource management; research ethics and more. Book description from Nielsen BookData Online: http://www.nielsenbookdataonline.com/bdol/

Written in simple, straightforward language, "From Research to Manuscript," explains how to understand and summarize a research project. It is a writing guide that goes beyond grammar and style by demonstrating how to pull together the information needed for each section of a polished scientific paper. This book is a systematic guide, leading you from the data on your desk through the drafts and rewrites that are needed to build a complete and tightly-written science article. "From Research to Manuscript" includes tools and techniques for structuring the sentences, paragraphs, and sections of a research paper. It gives wide-ranging examples from well-written research articles. It offers advice to speakers of other languages. It explains the effective use of tables, graphs, statistics, and figures. It shows you how to organize your data to clearly present your results. It guides you through the process of manuscript submission and editorial review. The updated second edition includes more examples, advice on publishing in online journals, software suggestions, and updated references. Overall, "From Research to Manuscript" argues that scientists should be working on their paper during their active research. Writing will keep the research project organized, thorough, and thoughtful. "From Research to Manuscript" provides a format for integrating writing and research, so that you can strengthen your science, compose a better paper, and get the paper published.
Book description from Nielsen BookData Online http://www.nielsenbookdataonline.com/bdol/

Designed to help scientists, engineers, and students write about their work clearly and effectively, this concise guide to appropriate style and usage for scientific writing also focuses on laboratory reports, grant proposals, internal communications and press releases. The author, a science writer and applied physicist, approaches the subject in a fresh way, using scores of examples from a wide variety of authors and disciplines.
Book Description from Nielsen BookData Online http://www.nielsenbookdataonline.com/bdol/

"[D]ay and Gastel concisely provide valuable, accurate, and up-to-date information. They focus on providing practical advice to readers, while still recognizing the difficulty and ambiguity of some aspects of the scientific writing and publishing process. No other available publication provides both the quality and quantity of information as this work which builds on the previous five editions....[t]he comprehensiveness of coverage regarding writing and publishing scientific papers by Day and Gastel ensure its appeal to academic and science audiences."-Issues in Science and Technology Librarianship. Book description from Nielsen BookData Online: http://www.nielsenbookdataonline.com/bdol/

Every student can benefit from extra help with matters of organization and style in the writing of term papers, theses, and dissertations as a precursor to better grades and greater respect. This handy guide from the best selling author team of "The Art of Scientific Writing" shows how to achieve maximum benefit with relatively little effort. Based on a proven concept that assumes no special talent for writing, the book will be of great value to both native and non native speakers of English. The treatment is rich in examples and challenging problems (with solutions provided in an appendix), applicable either in conjunction with a course or for self study. Book description from Nielsen BookData Online: http://www.nielsenbookdataonline.com/bdol/

No matter what field of expertise they choose to master, students know that the abilities to read an article well and comprehend the main points, to present a dynamic and effective oral report, and to work with groups, are essential to their success. The same skills are essential to every individual in a professional environment. "Communication for Science", one of the books in a "Communication" Series published for undergraduate South African students, has been extensively trialled in a technikon environment, with specific focus on students language and learning needs. In course-specific and general discussion and exercises, it takes a practical look at topics including communicating in a business environment, reading and writing reports, holding effective meetings, carrying out research, using a library and understanding a catalogue system, and compiling a bibliography. "Communication for Science" provides a springboard to academic achievement by equipping students with these tools.
Book description from Nielsen BookData Online: http://www.nielsenbookdataonline.com/bdol/