Skip to main content

Music Library Guide: Home

a library guide for Music & Dance students

Free for half an hour during lunch?

Pop in to our quick database training session at the W. H. Bell Music Library in the third term. Sign up as soon as possible because space is limited!

Register form

Library Hours

Term hours

Monday - Friday: 08h30-17h00
Saturday: 09h00-12h00

Vacation hours

Monday - Friday: 08h30-17h00
Saturday: closed

Useful links

While the Library still maintains strong print collections, it is important to note that many of our newest books are available only in electronic rather than print versions. 

Therefore it is essential to use the library catalogue, Primo,  which has hotlinks to the electronic books, since browsing the physical collection alone will cause you to miss the up-to-date, new material added to the Library holdings over the last few years.

 

 Locating library material:

 

-ICTS (UCT Information and Communication Technology Services)

-MyUCT email

-Vula

-Writing Centre

 

Connect with the UCT Libraries

    

Other Relevant guides

WH Bell Music Library

Welcome to the WH Bell Music Library at the University of Cape Town.

This guide is designed to assist Music and Performing Arts students find useful information to make the most of the resources the library has to offer.

Our users have access to an excellent collection of books about music and musicians, periodicals, reference sources, collected works of major composers, study and performance scores of music, sound and video recordings and electronic information resources that support the curriculum.

The library staff are always available for help and training.

We hope to see you soon!

Facilities

Printing, Photocopying and Scanning

UCT Managed Print Services (Xerox) is the copy and print vendor for UCT. The photocopy room is on the lower level.

Where can I get help?

 Their operating hours are:

  • Onsite support: 8:00 a.m. – 4.30 p.m.
  • Telephonic support:
    • Weekdays: 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
    • Saturdays: 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Listening rooms:

Listening rooms (on the lower level) are equipped with CD players, LP turntables, cassette players, TV sets, DVD and/or VHS machines. Exchange your student card for a key at the music library circulation desk. 

Getting books from other South African libraries

If the item you are looking for is not listed in the UCT Libraries catalogue, you can submit an interlibrary loan request. Complete a request form (pink form) at the Circulation Desk. If you need assistance contact Shaheema Luckan (shaheema.luckan@uct.ac.za).

The database,
SACat, lists material in all major South African Libraries.

Contact

Brandon Adams's picture
Brandon Adams
Contact:
+27 21 650 4294

Contact

Jaimee Reid's picture
Jaimee Reid
Contact:
+27 21 650 4051
Subjects:Music

Databases

NewUCT Libraries has acquired three archive databases which form part of NewsBank’s South African News Archive. Access is available via the Databases list. They are:

Find streaming and audio music online

Music & Dance Online LibGuide

Popular links: