Skip to main content

Psychology Library Guide: Looking for Books

Useful Shelf Numbers

150 Psychology in general, including introductory textbooks
153 Mental processes & Intelligence
154 Subconscious & Altered States
155 Differential & Developmental Psychology
156 Comparative Psychology
158 Applied Psychology
302 Social Psychology

616.89 Clinical Psychology

Short Loans

The Short Loans Centre is on Level 4 of the Chancellor Oppenheimer Library.

Many books and readings essential to your courses have been placed there by lecturers.

You will need to give the staff both the title and shelf number of the book you want.

Short Loan material is issued for 1 or 3 hours only.

You must return Short Loan material to the Short Loans Centre.

Writing Guides for Psychology

 
  • Writing for Psychology 2nd ed - M.L. Mitchell et al  
    Shelf Number: 808.06615 MITC
  •  
  •  
    Psychologist's Companion. 4th ed - R J Sternberg  
    Shelf Number: 808.06615 STER
  •  
  •  
    The Principles of Writing in Psychology - T R Smyth  
    Shelf Number: 808.06615 SMYT
  •  
  •  
    Concise Rules of APA Style ... 6th ed - American Psychological Association  
    Call Number: 808.06615 

Where are my books

Material in the library is arranged according to the Dewey Classification system.  Psychology books are shelved on Level 5 of the Library with numbers between 150 and 159. Clinical aspects are shelved at 616.89 on the Upper North Level of the Library (formerly the Science and Engineering wing).         

Primo, the online catalogue,  is accessible through any of the PCs in the library as well as from your office, school or home via the library web page.  Go to http://www.lib.uct.ac.za/.

PRIMO finds  books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.       

The location gives the shelf number.  Prefixes indicate in which library the books will be found.  The prefixes DS and WH have been discontinued, but they will still be found on older material in the catalogue and on the spines of books.  Ignore these prefixes  -  only the shelf number is important.   However, where the prefix is WHJ or WHT, these are discrete collections of education material for the Classroom Collection (WHJ), and School Textbooks (WHT) which are shelved separately.

The prefix R means the book is reference and cannot be taken out.  BA indicates Special Collections and can only be consulted or photocopied.  Government Publications Library keeps all official government documents.  Their holdings are indicated by the prefix G.  Some of their materials are available for loan.    

Selection of Reference Books

Reference books (with an R preceding their shelf number) can be found under similar shelf numbers on shelves near the Information Desk. They are always a good way to start an essay since they provide a quick, clear overview of the topic, and usually have a list of key references to follow up.

Some examples are:

Encyclopedia of identity: R 302.5 ENCY                      

Encyclopedia of psychology and religion:  R 200.19 ENCY          

The encyclopedia of positive psychology:  R 150.198 ENCY        

Encyclopedia of social psychology:  R 302.03 ENCY                  

Encyclopedia of industrial and organizational psychology: CR 158.703 ENCY  

Encyclopedia of multicultural psychology:   R 155.82 ENCY         

Encyclopedia of human development:   R 155.03 ENCY             

Encyclopedia of school psychology:   R 370.1503 ENCY             

The Oxford companion to the mind:   R 150.3 OXFO                

Encyclopedia of cognitive science:   R 153.03 ENCY                  

Encyclopedia of psychology:   R 150.3 ENCY                           

The Encyclopedia of psychiatry, psychology, and psychoanalysis:   R 616.89003 ENCY

The Blackwell encyclopedia of social psychology:   R 302.03 BLAC               

Companion encyclopedia of psychology:   R 150.3 COMP