Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Resources from UCT Libraries: Free interdisciplinary online books

Publicly available online books sources

List courtesy of Erin Gallagher, Electronic Resources Librarian, University of Florida - this list of Publisher/Vendor Support

 

  • Directory of Open Access Books:  directory of academic, peer reviewed open access books. 
  • epubBooks.com: free public domain eBooks that you can download in the EPUB format. 
  • Google Books: Previews and full-text ebooks. Full-text books are out of copyright, or books in which Google received permission from the publisher to reproduce. 
  • Hathi Trust Digital Library:  1
  • Internet Archive: Ebooks and Texts Archive:  contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts, and academic books. Internet Archive declared National Emergency Library; this means multiple users can check out eBooks at the same time for 13-days. Users only need to create an Open Library account.
  • Project Gutenberg: first and largest single collection of free ebooks that are out of copyright in the United States. 
  • PLOS (Public Library of Science): open access e-journals in science and medicine. 
  • NCBI Bookshelf: free online access to ebooks and documents in life sciences and healthcare. 
  • Open Textbook Library: 700+ open textbooks
  • OAPEN Library: Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN) Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. 
  • BioMed Central: part of Springer/Nature, BMC publishes open access journals in science and medicine. 
  • Open Book Publishers:  freely-available ebooks and e-textbooks in the Humanities and Social Sciences.