Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Everything using Primo
Primo (library searching tool) allows you to search for relevant resources for your topic. This helps you to discover all resources in a quick and easy way.
You can either search e-resources (articles, eBooks, reports and more) or UCT Library Catalogue (books, print journals, DVDs etc.) or Course Materials (Course related resources) or search everything.
Topic or keyword search in Primo
This presentation will show you how to find resources in UCT Libraries on a specific topic or using keywords.
Electronic UCT Theses and Dissertations
To search for theses and dissertations available electronically, you can search by title or author via Primo or our Institutional Repository OpenUCT for theses by UCT students.
Finding Theses and Dissertations Outside of UCT
Some South African universities make their theses available electronically–check our e-Theses Links page.
- Current and Completed Research
South African research projects in economics, science, humanities and includes masters and doctoral theses from South African Universities and technikons, as well as research works from government, non-government and private sectors.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
- Nexus Database System
Provided by the National Research Foundation, Nexus includes databases of: Current and Completed Research Projects in the Humanities and Social Sciences; Professional Associations; Forthcoming Conferences; Periodicals’ Submission Requirements; Research Organisations; Research Networking; Research Methodology Courses; and Women in Research. The database of Current and Completed Research Projects requires a password – please contact the Chancellor Oppenheimer Library on 021 650 3703/4 or the Law Library on 021 650 2708/9.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews.
- Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations (UCTD)
Bibliographic records of theses and dissertations at Master and Doctorate level submitted to universities in SA since 1918. Updated annually.
- WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
This database provides access to the dissertations and theses available university libraries worldwide. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.
For theses that are not available electronically, UCT users should request a loan via our Interlibrary Loans Department. Normally the issuing institution will lend a hard copy, but microfiche copies may be supplied.