Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Special Collections holds a collection of local and national newpapers and a range of Southern African newspapers. There are also several large collections of news clippings indexed by subject.
There is a small selection of local and national newspapers for perusal in the Main Library.
Online access to local, national and international newspapers is generally limited to that which is freely available on the web. Many of these newspapers require subscriptions before their entire content may be viewed.
However UCT Libraries now has access to Press Reader which gives access to growing number of newspapers and magazines from countries all over the world, including South Africa. Only content from the last two months is available (depending on the newspaper) . Access is limited to six people at a time.
Other online access is available through:
S A Media (via Sabinet Online)
A comprehensive South African press cuttings service providing access to more than 3 million newspaper reports and periodicals.
Times Digital Archive 1785 - 1985
Provides a complete searchable digital edition of The Times (London) from 1785. Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Newspaper Source - via EBSCOhost
Provides access to: full text articles from 105 contributor newspapers provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News; full text articles from 40 contributor newspapers provided by Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service; newswires from 6 sources including AP Online, Asia Pulse, Canadian Corporate News, Canadian Press Wire, Newsbytes News Service and World Stream Newswires; and full text of The Christian Science Monitor.
A huge database of journal and news articles, together with search options for country reports and company profiles, each from a range of top-notch sources.