Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To access the electronic databases, go to the UCT Libraries web site (http://www.lib.uct.ac.za) and hover your mouse over Search & Find in the top menu bar. In the dropdown menu, click on Databases to open the alphabetical list of databases, where you can navigate to the database you need.
Databases are vast searchable collections of records describing journal articles and other documents such as conference papers, reports, and book chapters. They are produced commercially or by learned societies, and most of them are international in scope, thus enabling you to explore the world's literature in a particular field. When you search a large international database, the articles you discover may, or may not, be available in UCT Libraries. Most databases provide abstracts (or summaries) of the articles' content, and some provide the full text of the articles themselves. When full text is not part of the database, our link resolver software, SFX, will help you track down the full article if it is available in any of our e-journal packages.
The following databases are recommended for mathematics searches:
Scopus is a vast abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, covering all major science, technology, and medicine publications (over 19,500 peer-reviewed titles from more than 5,000 publishers) as well as 500 million quality web pages.
MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification
Web of Science
Web of Science provides multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide. It includes current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. UCT Libraries has access to this database from 1962 to the present.
Access to journals and ebooks published by Elsevier Science.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It is accessed via the EBSCOhost platform.
General Science Abstracts
Produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, General Science Abstracts indexes articles from over 265 leading journals and magazines from the United States and Great Britain including popular science magazines and professional journals. It covers Astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, health & medicine, mathematics, zoology, and more.
JSTOR provides access to a number of older journal articles. For a full list of journal titles choose browse and then select subject grouping.
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database covering mathematics, statistics, physics and computer science etc. It is accessed via the EBSCOhost platform.
Provides extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.