LibGuides: Physics Library Guide: Databases

Articles

You can use the following databases to find journal articles related to Physics

arXiv.org e-Print Archives This link opens in a new window
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
Engineering Village: Compendex & Inspec This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village has the search, analytics, and navigation tools that engineers need to efficiently generate research, assess the impact and relevancy of critical information, and discover new insights for addressing the world’s toughest engineering challenges. An interdisciplinary engineering and applied science database. Coverage includes applied physics and astronomy.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore delivers full access content to more than four-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. A comprehensive online collection including journals and conferences.
IEEE Xplore delivers IEL to your desktop. With more than 2 million full-text articles and papers it delivers access to the most vital information in technology today.
Solid state and superconductivity abstracts (a sub-set of Technology Research Database) This link opens in a new window
Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts provides global coverage on all aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices - as well as the new high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology, now highlighted in every issue. Some of the topics covered are phase, crystal, and mechanical properties of solids, optical and dielectric properties, conductive and magnetic properties, exotic electronic structure and energy gaps, SQUIDs, impurity effects, flux structures and critical current, ceramics, twinning phenomena, and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to journals and ebooks published by Elsevier Science.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science is a large, broad-based abstracting database with direct links to journal articles.
The Web of Knowledge database includes the Web of Science, Biological Abstracts, Zoological Records and the Journal Citation Index. Searching can be across all databases or selected databases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to a number of older journal articles.

Searching effectively

Journals

UCT Libraries subscribes to a large number of print and/or electronic journals relevant to Physics.

Remember that our catalogue and the Electronic Journals page tell you which journals and books we have access to, but they don't tell you which articles or chapters appear in them. For that you use indexes and databases. Find find a specific journal, go to our E-JournalPortal and type in the name of the Journal that you are looking for.

The library subcribes to selected IOP (Institute of Physics) Journals

Off Campus Login

Remember to use the off campus login when accessing databases from off campus. This is useful even when using Google Scholar since this allows pay walled items within UCT Libraries' subscriptions to be indexed.