Chemistry Library Guide: Reference Materials

A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects from theory and instrumentation through to applications and techniques. Published in 2000.

A detailed and comprehensive encyclopedia covering all facets of the science and practice of analysis to 1995.
(This reference work has been removed from the Reference Collection and can now be found on the ordinary bookshelves.)

A quick-reference source and clear guide to specific chromatographic techniques and principles.

A complete and authoritative reference work on the subject to 1998, with contributions from more than 300 leading computational chemists.

Treats the elements of the periodic system in alphabetical order, with multiple entries for key elements. Published in 1994.

This contains an authoritative and systematic description of the use of all reagents in organic chemistry. It includes approximately 3500 alphabetically arranged articles, a comparison of reagents with others capable of similar chemistry, a pro and con assessment for each reagent, extensive cross-referencing and substantial subject and molecular formula indexes.

Covers the latest supramolecular advancements and methods in the areas of chemistry, biochemistry, biology, environmental science, materials science, engineering, physics, computer science, and applied mathematics.

A global team of experts provide a comprehensive overview of the concepts and techniques of modern supramolecular chemistry, demonstrating how these paradigms evolve into nanoscale systems chemistry, nanotechnology, materials science, and beyond.
Contents: v. 1. Concepts -- v. 2. Techniques -- v. 3. Molecular recognition -- v. 4. Supramolecular catalysis, reactivity and chemical biology -- v. 5. Self-assembly and supramolecular devices -- v. 6. Supramolecular materials chemistry -- v. 7. Soft matter -- v. 8. Nanotechnology.

A 7-volume set covering the synthesis, reactions, properties and applications of coordination compounds, with extensive bibliographies.

Builds on the first edition and surveys new developments, with an emphasis on current trends in biology, materials science and other areas of contemporary scientific interest.

Contains experimental procedures which are organized according to the periodic table, and covers the most important preparative procedures in organometallic, inorganic and organoelement chemistry. The book also covers the literature, laboratory techniques, and starting materials.

A comprehensive overview of developments in the field from 1982-1994, providing a structured first point of entry to the key literature and background material.
(The first edition, covering the field prior to 1982 shelved at DS 547.05 COMP on the open shelves.)
.

Continues the previous work, covering the research published from 1994 to 2007.

A collection of articles providing comprehensive coverage of the field to 1996.

Published in 1995, this work covers the vast subject of organic synthesis in terms of the introduction and interconversion of functional groups. (All organic structures can be considered as skeletal frameworks of carbon atoms to which functional groups are attached or in which they are embedded. These functional groups are largely responsible for chemical and biological activity and it is these functional groups which are highlighted in these volumes.) This work complements "Comprehensive Organic Synthesis" (below) which is organized by reaction type.

Published in 2005, this continues the above work.

Published in 1991, the contributions in this work have been organized to reflect the way in which synthetic chemists approach a problem. In terms of organic molecules, the work is divided into formation of carbon-carbon bonds, the introduction of heteroatoms and heteroatom interconversions. Organization of the chapters is along the theme of selectivity, which is a critical question in determining the suitability of a synthetic method.

Covers the structure, reactions, synthesis, and uses of heterocyclic compounds.

Collects all aspects the chemistry of natural products. This work is not intended to list all known natural products or their sources, but rather as the source of the underlying general principles governing modern natural products chemistry. Priority is given to the chemistry rather than the biological activity of natural products.