Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases collect, organise and index information from journals, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations, magazines, newspapers and other sources. UCT Libraries subscribe to many databases covering a wide range of subject areas.
You can search a database by typing in keywords that describe your topic. The database will provide you with information about journal articles and other materials on the topic, and may even link you to full text articles in our electronic journals. To get the most out of our databases, make an appointment with your Subject Librarian
who will give you detailed information and useful tips about designing your search strategy, refining your results, and tracking down the articles you discover.
You should choose 3 or 4 main points (Key Concepts) when searching for information covering your topic.
When searching electronic resources use 'stemming' to include words that have the same 'stem', for example:
statis* would look for statistics or statistical or statistician.
To search different EBSCOhost databases simultaneously, choose one (such as Academic Search Premier) and then click on "Choose Databases". A pop-up screen will allow you to select the ones you want to
Useful Databases for Statistical Sciences
Academic Search Premiere - via EBSCOHost (Full Text)
Provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,900 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 840 periodicals.
Current Index to Statistics
CIS covers the entire contents of over 160 core journals, selected articles from about 1200 additional journals in related fields, and about 11,000 books in statistics published since 1975.
General Science Abstracts
Topics covered include astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth science, health & medicine, zoology etc. It is accessed via the EBSCOhost platform.
An electronic publication offering access to a database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
Access to journals and ebooks published by Elsevier Science.
"Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It's designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process."
Web of Science
The Web of Science is a large, broad-based abstracting database with direct links to journal articles.
What to do if a journal title is not available at UCT Libraries
If you cannot find a journal title at UCT Libraries or if UCT Libraries does not have the date of the journal article that you need, first search SACat(SABINET) to find out whether that journal is available at any other Southern African libraries.
SACat (SABINET) is the joint catalogue of all major libraries in Southern Africa. The database gives details of books, journals and audiovisual material held in each library.
Once you have found that the journal title is available at another library in Southern Africa, you can request it via UCT Libraries Interlibrary Loans Department. The request can be done online once you have registered with the Interlibrary Loans Department. Alternatively, you can visit the Department in the library and make the request in person. You will then be notified by e-mail when the article arrives in the library.
Find out more about the Interlibrary Loans service.
Using Web of Science for your Research