What is a database?
A database collects, organises and indexes information from journals, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations, magazines, newspapers and other sources. UCT Libraries subscribe to many databases covering a wide range of subject areas.
You can search a database by typing in keywords that describe your topic. The database will provide you with information about journal articles and other materials on the topic, and most will link you to full text articles in our electronic journals.
Accessing databases
To access databases go to
"Databases A-Z" on our libraries homepage.
You might be asked to sign in with your UCT credentials with a Single Sign-on (SSO).
The databases will show lists of journal articles and other materials on your topic, but not all these articles will be available in UCT Libraries. If we do not subscribe to the journal you need, ask our Interlibrary Loans Department to obtain the article for you from another library.
What is a journal?
A journal is like an academic magazine where scholars have written articles about their research. Essentially, a journal is a collection of articles.
What is the difference between a book and a journal article?
A book is a longer, and a usually more comprehensive text on a subject.
Journal articles are shorter, and more specific. They are published more frequently and so have more up-to-date information than books do.
Why use journals?
We suggest the following databases for Information Systems
Academic OneFile: Provides extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Premier: This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. Provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.
ACM Digital Library: ACM Digital Library covers all areas of computing and includes journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings.
Africa-Wide Information: combines databases (African Studies, South African Studies, and African Healthline) to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This resource is essential for those with an interest in African research, and information on and about Africa.
Business Source Premier: is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete: A good place to start a literature search for technical or engineering information, CASC covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and the applied sciences, including chemical engineering. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,900 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 840 periodicals.
Computer and Information Systems Abstracts - via CSA Technology Research Database:
Emerald Full Text Journals: The Electronic Management Research Library Database - provides access to over 25,000 management articles from over 130 journals in the areas of: general management; human resources; information management; library and information services;marketing; operations, production & economics; property; quality; and training & education.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library: IEEE Xplore delivers full access content to more than four-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. A comprehensive online collection including journals and conferences. IEEE Xplore delivers IEL to your desktop. With more than 2 million full-text articles and papers it delivers access to the most vital information in technology today.
Gartner: Gartner is a leading information technology firm that provides research and analysis services to inform and support decision making in higher education and other industry sectors. Gartner is well known for its "Magic Quadrants" and "Hype Cycles" features.
Once you have authenticated, under the search bar right on top of the screen, click Advanced Search. Scroll to the Entitlement section and ensure that is selected to Research I Own > click Search. Now you will only be able to see what UCT has access too.
SA e-publications: This service, which is the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic South African journals in the world, focuses on making journals published in South Africa available online.
Web of Science: The Web of Science is a large, broad-based abstracting database with direct links to journal articles.