Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are databases?
A database is an organized collection of electronic information that allows a user to search for a particular topic, article, or book in a variety of ways (e.g., keyword, subject, author, title). Some databases contain the full-text of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as books.
Databases A-Z list can be accessed here and A-Z Databases
Core Databases: Communication and Mass Media Complete and PsycInfo
Search for journal articles through the databases listed below. For a complete list of the databases available visit the Databases list on the UCT Libraries' web site.
The first Four databases are available on EBSCO-host and you can choose them altogether.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. Provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.
Provides access to citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Business Source Premier
Provides journal coverage in the areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
A research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to a number of older journal articles.
Sabinet African Journals This link opens in a new window
This service is the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform which focuses on information originating from or pertaining to Africa. Previously SA ePublications