It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Professional Communication Library Guide: News Sources
A guide to resources for Tourism & Events Management.
In applied management news articles are often used when there is a lack of academic literature. Newspapers show what was the current interest and thinking at a particular time. One can also use news articles to find explanations for anomalies in datasets.
UCT Libraries subscribes to PressReader, a database that provides access to over 3000 publications from more than 55 countries (including South Africa). Access covers the most recent 6 months and content may be browsed by country, language or title. Access is via theA-Z Databases
In addition, UCT Libraries has access to several databases that index newspapers from around the globe. These are:
AllAfrica.com is among the Internet's largest content sites posting over 800 stories daily in English and French and offering a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming as well as over 900,000 articles in a searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997). Strategic alliances with media and information technology companies, such as Comtex News Network, Radio France Internationale, and the BBC, extend AllAfrica's global reach.
Reuters, the world’s largest international news agency, is a leading provider of real-time, high-impact, multimedia news and information services to newspapers, television and cable networks, radio stations and websites around the globe.
S.A. Media is one of the most comprehensive press cutting services offering you access to a database consisting of more than 3 million newspaper reports and periodical articles which have been indexed on computer since 1978.
More than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
How to look for newspaper articles
This video demonstrates how to search for newspapers using various databases available at UCT such as: PressReader,LexisNexis Academic, SA Media, Times Digital Archive, Newspaper Source and African Newspapers.
Finding newspaper articles
This slide show demonstrates how to find a newspaper articles using LexisNexis