Apart from Annee Philologique, some other databases useful for Ancient Mythology in particular, are:
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials – via EBSCOhost
Academic Search Premier – via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Humanities International Complete – via EBSCOhost
Project Muse Premium Collection
Try simple searches - words like Mythology, followed by and, followed by other keywords separated by and, such as:
Mythology and Greek and Women
When a range of alternative terms are used, separate them with or, and be sure to enclose them within brackets:
Mythology and Greek and (Women or Female or Gender)
If no brackets were used in the example below, the search would bring up articles on Gender, unrelated to Mythology or Greek.
|
Ancient Greece and Rome :
|
1998
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 938.003 ANCI
|
|
The book of the pharaohs /
|
2003
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 932.0103 VERN
|
|
The Cambridge dictionary of classical civilization /
|
2006
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 938.003 CAMB
|
|
A companion to world mythology /
|
1979
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) WHR 291.1303 BARB
|
|
The dictionary of ancient Egypt /
|
2003
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 932.003 SHAW
|
|
A dictionary of ancient Near Eastern mythology /
|
1991
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 299.203 LEIC
|
|
A dictionary of Celtic mythology /
|
2000
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 398.20491603 MACK
|
|
Dictionary of Greek and Latin authors and texts /
|
2009
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 913.003 PAUL
|
|
Dictionary of Roman religion /
|
1996
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 292.0703 ADKI
|
|
The Element encyclopedia of magical creatures :
|
2005
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 398.46903 MATT
|
|
Encyclopedia of ancient deities /
|
2000
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 291.21103 COUL
|
|
Encyclopedia of ancient Greece /
|
2006
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 938.003 ENCY
|
|
Encyclopedia of ancient Rome /
|
2012
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 937.003 BUNS
|
|
The encyclopedia of Celtic mythology and folklore /
|
2008
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 299.16 MONA
|
|
Encyclopedia of classical philosophy /
|
1997
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 180.3 ENCY
|
|
Encyclopedia of religion /
|
2005
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 200.3 ENCY
|
|
Encyclopedia of the ancient Greek world /
|
2005
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 938.003 SACK
|
|
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire /
|
2002
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 937.0603 BUNS
|
|
The Facts On File dictionary of classical and biblical allusions /
|
2003
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 803 FACT
|
|
Goddesses in world mythology /
|
1995
|
Hiddingh Hall Library : R (BOOK) HR 291.211403 ANN
|
|
The gods and symbols of ancient Egypt :
|
1980
|
Hiddingh Hall Library (BOOK) H 299.3103 LURK
|
|
Gods, demons and symbols of ancient Mesopotamia :
|
1992
|
Hiddingh Hall Library : R (BOOK) HR 299.2103 BLAC
|
|
Greek and Latin authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000 /
|
1980
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 880.03 GRAN
|
|
An illustrated dictionary of classical mythology /
|
1978
|
Hiddingh Hall Library : R (BOOK) HR 292.1303 MEAD
|
|
Lexikon der Alten Welt /
|
1965
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 930.03 LEXI
|
|
Mythologies /
|
1991
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 291.1303 MYTH
|
|
The Oxford classical dictionary.
|
2012
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 938.003 OXFO
|
|
The Oxford companion to classical literature /
|
2011
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 880.03 OXFO
|
|
The Oxford dictionary of classical myth and religion /
|
2003
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 292.003 OXFO
|
|
The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Egypt /
|
2001
|
Main Library (BOOK) R 932.003 OXFO
|
|
The Penquin dictionary of classical mythology /
|
1991
|
Main Library (BOOK) R 292.1303 GRIM
|
|
The reception of myth and mythology /
|
2010
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 913.003 PAUL
|
|
Who’s who in ancient Egypt /
|
2002
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 932.01092 RICE
|
|
Who’s who in classical mythology /
|
1993
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 292.1303 GRAN
|
|
Who’s who in non-classical mythology /
|
1993
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 291.1303 SYKE
|
|
Who’s who in the ancient Near East /
|
2002
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 939.4092 LEIC
|
|
Who’s who in the classical world /
|
2000
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 920.038 WHOS
|
|
Women of classical mythology :
|
1991
|
Main Library : Reference Collection (BOOK) R 292.1303 BELL
|
SEARCHING ON THE BOOK CATALOGUE (Primo) FOR MYTHOLOGY
You can find the Primo search interface on the library web page at www.lib.uct.ac.za
Keyword Searching
Some nice results can be achieved on the Primo by typing your specific search term into the basic search box, preceded by "Mythology and separated by AND.
eg.
Mythology AND Hesiod
or
Mythology AND Homer
The default screen brings up a range of sources, not just books at UCT. You can use a drop-down arrow next to the search box to restrict results only to books at UCT, or only to electronic sources.
For a truly comprehensive catalogue search (bringing up 700+ titles), try pasting this search into the search box :
Mythology AND (Greek OR Roman OR Classical OR Assyrian OR Babylonian OR Egyptian OR Mesopotamian OR Ancient)
Notice that any group of words separated by or have to be enclosed in brackets, otherwise the catalogue would return everything to do with "Ancient" for example, without relating it to "Mythology"
Subject Browsing
For much tighter searches you can use the Browse option, and type in Mythology.
This will bring up a list of subject headings related to mythology assigned to the book record by cataloguers.
The major Subject Headings and Shelf Numbers on the library book catalogue for Mythology in your areas of interest are:
Mythology, Assyro-Babylonian. - 299.21
Mythology, Classical. - 292.13
Mythology, Egyptian. - 299.31
Mythology, Etruscan. - 299.9294
Mythology, Greek. - 292.13
Mythology, Greek -- Drama.- 882....
Mythology, Greek, in art. - 709.161
Mythology, Roman. - 292.13
Mythology, Roman, in literature. - 870.9382
Beware though, that subjects overlap, so these catalogue headings will also bring up books under other shelf numbers too - in other words, these shelf numbers are handy to browse at but will not contain the whole number of books that may be useful to you.