It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To access the electronic databases, go to the UCT Libraries web site (http://www.lib.uct.ac.za) and hover your mouse over Search & Find in the top menu bar. In the dropdown menu, click on Databasesto open the alphabetical list of databases, where you can navigate to the database you need.
Google Scholar is a Web search engine that specifically searches scholarly literature and academic resources.
There is overlap between the content in Google Scholar and the Library's individual databases. Also, many citations in Google Scholar will link to full text in the Library's databases or in publicly available databases, click on ViewIt@UCT to access the full text.
Google Scholar can be a convenient starting place, but it is not a comprehensive "one-stop shop." For more precise searching, more search features, and more content, use the Library's databases.
Databases for searching the geomatics literature ...
Databases are searchable collections of records describing journal articles and other documents such as conference papers, reports, and book chapters. They are produced commercially or by learned societies, and most of them are international in scope, thus enabling you to explore the world's literature in a particular field. When you search a large international database, the articles you discover may, or may not, be available in UCT Libraries. Most databases provide abstracts (or summaries) of the articles' content, and some provide the full text of the articles themselves.
Where the full text is not available from the database, click on ViewIt@UCT (Google Scholar) or to help you track the full article. You can also use PRIMO to find out if we have the journal in printed format.
If UCT does not have access to a journal, please request the article via our Interlibrary Loans service.
The following databases are recommended for geomatics students:
Less academic in character than the other engineering databases available at UCT, this database provides access to information in trade journals, news media, and weekly magazines, but there is also some coverage of scholarly journals.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. Provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.
Covering over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journals, newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases, this database from the American Society of Civil Engineers, indexes civil engineering materials, including surveying, satellite communications, topography, and cartography from about 1966 onwards.
A good place to start a literature search for technical or engineering information, CASC covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and the applied sciences, including geomatics. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,900 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 840 periodicals.
This vast comprehensive engineering database covers journal articles, technical reports, conference proceedings and papers published worldwide. Subjects include: mechanical, civil, environmental, electrical, and structural engineering, land surveying, remote sensing, GIS, materials science, bioengineering, energy engineering, chemical and process engineering, optics, air & water pollution, solid waste management, hazardous waste management, road transportation and transportation safety.
Inspec coverage is extensive in the fields of physics, computing, control, and engineering. Its subject coverage includes astronomy, electronics, communications, computers and computing, computer science, control engineering, electrical engineering, information technology, physics, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) is an award-winning tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SRM's taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content.
SRM's taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content, including:
* Over 600 books
* Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks
* The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series
* Two major works collating a selection of journal articles
* Newly commissioned videos
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, 9000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.