Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geomatics Library Guide: FREE INTERDISCIPLINARY ONLINE BOOKS

A library guide for geomatics students.

Links to Art resources

Art

Bloomsbury Architecture Library

“Bloomsbury Architecture Library is a leading digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design.” The collection contains e-books relating to visual culture.

Access conditions: Temporary access until 31 May 2020

Bloomsbury Collections

“Provides online access to scholarly books from Bloomsbury’s award-winning Academic division.” This collection covers the arts, humanities and social sciences and can be browsed by subject. 

Relevant subject area: Art and Visual Culture

Access conditions: Temporary access until 31 May 2020

Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Philosophers

This database features “critical biographical entries on individuals who have contributed to the history of thought and philosophy. Discover a global history that covers a broad range of traditions, subjects, schools of thought, and regions.”

Relevant subjects: Art ; Aesthetics

Access conditions: Temporary access until 31 May 2020

Cambridge Companions

“Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.”

Relevant subject area: Art

Access conditions: Temporary access until 31 May 2020

Cambridge Histories

“Cambridge Histories is a globally respected series of over 300 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.”

Relevant subject area: Art

Access conditions: Temporary access until 31 May 2020

MIT Press Direct collection of eBooks

MIT Press Direct  provides access to the complete collection of MIT Press eBooks, with more than 2,500 eBooks. “Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.”

Links to Perfomorning Art resources

Drama

Bloomsbury Collections

“Provides online access to scholarly books from Bloomsbury’s award-winning Academic division.” This collection covers the arts, humanities and social sciences and can be browsed by subject. 

Relevant subject areas: Theatre studies (Literary Studies) ; Shakespeare studies (Literary Studies)

Access conditions: Temporary access until 31 May 2020

Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Philosophers

This database features “critical biographical entries on individuals who have contributed to the history of thought and philosophy. Discover a global history that covers a broad range of traditions, subjects, schools of thought, and regions.”

Relevant subjects: Performing Arts

Access conditions: Temporary access until 31 May 2020

Cambridge Companions

“Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.”

Relevant subject area: Drama and Theatre

Access conditions: Temporary access until 31 May 2020

Cambridge Elements

“Cambridge Elements are a new concept in academic publishing and scholarly communication, combining the best features of books and journals. They consist of original, concise, authoritative, and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific research, organised into focused series edited by leading scholars, and provide comprehensive coverage of the key topics in disciplines spanning the arts and sciences”

Relevant subject area: Literature

Access conditions: Temporary access until 31 May 2020

Cambridge Histories

“Cambridge Histories is a globally respected series of over 300 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.”

Relevant subject area: Drama and Theatre ; Literature

Access conditions: Temporary access until 31 May 2020

Drama Online

“Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.” Collections include playtexts, audio and video. Read more about the database’s many features here

Access conditions: Temporary access until 31 May 2020

Loeb Classical Library

The digital Loeb Classical Library provides access to Greek and Latin literature with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.

Access conditions: Extended trial access until 30 June 2020.

MIT Press Direct collection of eBooks

MIT Press Direct  provides access to the complete collection of MIT Press eBooks, with more than 2,500 eBooks. “Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.”

Relevant subject area: Arts (includes General ; Performance Studies)

Access conditions: Temporary access until 31 May 2020

Project MUSE: eBooks

Over 50 publishers are offering free content on MUSE. This huge collection of eBooks has been activated on Primo. Download the title list of free eBooks by clicking here.

Access conditions: Temporary access (duration of access may vary from publisher)

Wits University Press: eBooks

Wits University Press is supporting scholars and students during South Africa's lockdown by making content freely available. Access to Wits University Press eBooks is active on JSTOR and these books are now available on Primo.

Access conditions: Temporary access until 30 June 2020