LibGuides: Evidence-Based Medicine Library Guide: Critically appraised topics, articles & practice guidelines

Critically Appraised Topics - Clinical Overviews in ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Included in this database is Clinical Overview’s evidence-based point of care interface. ClinicalKey allows users to register accounts for off-campus access. After completing this process, you will be able to view ClinicalKey content on your computer or mobile device via the ClinicalKey app anytime you are logged in to your personal account.

Critically Appraised Topics - UpToDate

UpToDate^® is a decision support resource in which the authors use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations.

Access to UpToDate is available via the UCT Network on campus as well as in the teaching hospitals, Hanover Park, Mowbray Maternity, Valkenburg and Vanguard.

For off campus access to UpToDate Anywhere, register for your own personal account with UpToDate on campus, and you will have access from any computer with an internet connection. You can download the UpToDate Mobile App onto your cell phone or tablet, and login using your personal account details. Once every 90 days, you will be prompted to re-verify your affiliation with your subscribing institution to maintain UpToDate Anywhere access

GF Jooste
Hanover Park
Mowbray
Valkenberg
Vanguard

- See more at: http://www.lib.uct.ac.za.ezproxy.uct.ac.za/medical/health-science/health-sciences-library-uptodate-2/#sthash.nhFOGBLi.dpuf

GF Jooste
Hanover Park
Mowbray
Valkenberg
Vanguard

- See more at: http://www.lib.uct.ac.za.ezproxy.uct.ac.za/medical/health-science/health-sciences-library-uptodate-2/#sthash.nhFOGBLi.dpuf

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Point of care evidence-based database giving comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resources. Where there is no evidence it makes recommendations based on expert opinion.
For off campus access to UpToDate Anywhere, register for your own personal account with UpToDate on campus and you will have access from any computer with an internet connection. You can download the UpToDate Mobile App onto your cell phone or tablet, and login using your personal account details. Once every 90 days, you will be prompted to re-verify your affiliation with your subscribing institution to maintain UpToDate Anywhere access

UpToDate Help
Includes FAQ's, Demos and User Manual

Practice Guidelines

While some practice guidelines have been based on a rigorous research process, not all guidelines are high levels of evidence and can be regarded as expert opinion.

PubMed
Filter to 'practice guidelines'
CINAHL
Filter to 'practice guidelines'
(Find CINAHL by linking first to EBSCOHost and then to CINAHL)

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicineTM from McGraw-Hill provides access to more than 60 medical titles, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device. Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Filter to 'practice guidelines'

American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines
American Psychiatric Association (APA) practice guidelines provide evidence-based recommendations for the assessment and treatment of psychiatric disorders.
Clinical Practice Guidelines (Australia)
Guidelines (UK)
Guidelines International Network
Search the International Guideline Library
Guidelines for Nurses (UK)
Guidelines in Practice (UK)
NICE Guidance
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence
RHL:The WHO Reproductive Health Library
Guidelines and RHL guideline appraisals
SIGN
Scottish Intercollegiate Network
South African Guidelines Excellence Project (SAGE)
SAGE gathers evidence from around the world, and uses local skills and knowledge, to support the development, adaptation and implementation of guidelines for South Africa to improve healthcare processes, costs and outcomes.
SUMSearch2
Filter to 'guidelines'.

Trip Database This link opens in a new window
Filter to 'guidelines'.

Critically Appraised Articles

Summary in which authors evaluate and synthesize an individual research article.

ACP Journal Club
Published by the American College of Physicians, this is a monthly feature of the journal, Annals of Internal Medicine, in which editors screen the top 130+ clinical journals and identify studies that are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. An enhanced abstract with commentary and conclusions are provided for each selected article. At present UCT does not have a subscription to this journal.
more...less...
Find it in the Annals of Internal Medicine which can be access via the e-journal portal
EvidenceAlerts
Produced by McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit, citations from 120+ top clinical journals are pre-rated for quality by research staff, then rated for clinical relevance and interest by at least 3 members of a worldwide panel of practicing physicians. Includes a searchable database and an alerting service.
Evidence- based journals
Primary research articles are selected for quality and clinical relevance together with a structured abstract and expert commentary for each study, e.g.
'Evidence-based health policy and management'
'Evidence-based medicine'
'Evidence-based obstetrics and gynecology'
etc.
These journals can be accessed via our e journal portal.
more...less...
Find these journals via the e-Journal Portal

Evidence-Based Medicine Library Guide

Critically Appraised Topics - Clinical Overviews in ClinicalKey

Critically Appraised Topics - UpToDate

UpToDate® is a decision support resource in which the authors use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations.

Practice Guidelines

Critically Appraised Articles

UpToDate^® is a decision support resource in which the authors use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations.