Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Masters and doctoral theses at UCT can be found via Primo or via OpenUCT.
Printed theses from other universities can be obtained on inter-library loan.
Finding conference proceedings
Papers from conferences are sometimes collected and published in book form or in academic journals (often in supplements). Often you will be able to locate an abstract of a conference but not the full paper - simply because the full paper has not been published. Contacting the authors or even the organization is one way of tracking down a conference paper.
OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
An OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings.
A large network of library-based content and services, WorldCAt enables you to search UCT's collections and the collections of many other libraries worldwide.
Finding grey literature
The term grey literature refers to research that is either unpublished or has been published in non-commercial form. It can include conference papers, theses, government reports, policy statements, working papers, etc. Some limitations of a grey literature search include the possibility of bias, lack of indexing, inability to refine search and often time-cosuming.
With deep web searching, this search engine simultaneously accesses multiple sources of quality information. Generates de-duplicated, aggregated and ranked results.
National Health Research Database (NHRD)
Repository of health-related research which has been and is currently being conducted in South Africa.
Lists Active Projects of the NIH
Directory of Open Access Repositories
Multidisciplinary European database, covering science, technology, biomedical science, economics, social science and humanities.
Includes access to SaCat (holdings of Southern African Libraries), SAMedia and the Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations (UCTD)
University of York Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD)
Includes searchable database, trials register(PROSPERO), published research and guides to information resources.
WHO MiNDbank: More Inclusiveness Needed in Disability and Development
A database of resources covering mental health, substance abuse, disability, general health, human rights and development. Can filter by country.
World Health Library Database (WHOLIS)
Library & Information Networks for Knowledge Database
A large network of library-based content and services, WorldCat enables you to search UCT's collections and the collections of many other libraries worldwide.