LibGuides: Electrical Engineering Library Guide: Databases

Databases

Databases collect, organise and index information from journals, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations, magazines, newspapers and other sources.

Search for articles using databases by typing in keywords that describe your topic - remember to define the topic and think about the key concepts involved. Ask your subject librarian, Gcobisa Xalabile, for help if needs be.

The databases will show lists of journal articles and other materials on your topic, but not all these articles will be available in UCT Libraries. If we do not subscribe to the journal you need, ask our Interlibrary Loans Department to obtain the article for you from another library.

Useful General Dadtbases

Look at the Help tab for online tutorials.

Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library
Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985. Covers all areas of computing including software engineering.

Sabinet African Journals This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary database. It Indexes most South African journals. Recent articles of journals that are not available in international databases are available in fulltext.

ScienceDirect
Access to the Elsevier Science journal collection (over 1,200 titles), along with journals from prestigious societies and scientific, technical and medical publishers. It covers a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines in the sciences and social sciences.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science is a large, broad-based database with direct links to journal articles. Indexes some of the most important journals in electrical and electronics engineering.
The Web of Knowledge database includes the Web of Science, Biological Abstracts, Zoological Records and the Journal Citation Index. Searching can be across all databases or selected databases.

Electrical and Electronics Engineering specific databases

Look at the Help tab for online tutorials.

Engineering Village
A comprehensive database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings.

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection This link opens in a new window
The Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Online subscription includes access to abstracts and full text articles published since 1988 with select content published since 1893.
IEEE Xplore delivers IEL to your desktop. With more than 2 million full-text articles and papers it delivers access to the most vital information in technology today.

IET Digital Library
Access to the journals, magazines and conference content published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology since 1994.

Accessing databases

To access e-databases choose the Search & Find on the menu bar of our homepage and then select either the A-Z list of Databases or Databases by Platform. Alternativley, search a specific database from the lists on this page.

It is possible to access our databases and electronic journals off-campus using EZProxy.

EBSCOhost Databases

To search different EBSCOhost databases simultaneously, choose Databases by Platform from Search & Find on the menu bar and click on the EBSCOhost icon. You may then select multiple databases.