Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate School of Development Policy and Practice: Find Journals

Journal Articles

The library’s journal databases are particularly helpful for finding information. Journal articles are short and cover very specific topics, so they are more digestible than books and more likely to deal exactly with your topic. They are also quicker to publish than books and so are more likely to be up to date.

Databases can be accessed either by alphabetical list .

The following databases are good sources for information on Development Policy and Practice. You can also search a large range of these databases together using WorldCat.

Provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.

The Africa Portal is an online knowledge resource for policy-related issues on Africa. An undertaking by the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI) and the South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA), the Africa Portal offers open access to a suite of features including an online library collection; a resource for opinion and analysis; an experts directory; an international events calendar; and a mobile technology component — all aimed to equip users with research and information on Africa’s current policy issues.

Africa-Wide Information combines databases (African Studies, South African Studies, and African Healthline) to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This resource is essential for those with an interest in African research, and information on and about Africa.

AllAfrica.com is among the Internet's largest content sites posting over 800 stories daily in English and French and offering a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming as well as over 900,000 articles in a searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997). Strategic alliances with media and information technology companies, such as Comtex News Network, Radio France Internationale, and the BBC, extend AllAfrica's global reach. Content agreements with over 100 African news organizations generate steady revenues for the content partners and give them, in turn, access to the prize-winning reporting of the AllAfrica team.

Provides access to the full text of the South African Government Gazette and Weekly Government Gazette Index. The database includes acts, bills, draft bills, green papers,white papers, and regulations published in the Government Gazette. Also included are general notices, government notices, press releases, board notices, legal notices and proclamations. (Retrospective Gazettes also available).

The Data Catalog provides download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources.

 

InterLibrary Loans

If a journal article is not available through UCT libraries. A copy can be requested via InterLibrary Loans from another library.

Find Journal Articles in WorldCat

Print Journals

Use the Library Catalogue Primo to get shelf numbers for print journals. Printed journals are housed in two areas. The latest issues of journal are kept on level 5 in the Research Wing. Older journals are kept on levels 2 and 3 below Interlibrary Loans, down the spiral staircase.

 

Journals by Title

You can search our eJournal Portal to find if we subscribe to a particular journal title. Our library catalogue Primo should also list any titles we subscribe to either in print or electronically. 

Useful journals may include: