Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate School of Development Policy and Practice: Databases

Databases

Databases collect, organise and index information from journals, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations, magazines, newspapers and other sources.

Search for articles using databases by typing in keywords that describe your topic. Remember to define the topic and think about the key concepts involved. Ask your subject librarian, Susanne Noll for help if needed.

The databases will show lists of journal articles and other materials on your topic, but not all these articles will be available in UCT Libraries. If we do not subscribe to the journal you may, ask our Interlibrary Loans Department to obtain the article for you from another library.

Accessing Databases

To access e-databases choose the Database list A-Z from the libraries'  homepage

Useful Databases

We suggest the following databases for your literature review:

Academic Search Premier 

Provides journal coverage for most academic areas of study—including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.

Academic OneFile        

Provides extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Africa-Wide: NiPAD         

Africa-Wide: NiPAD combines databases (African Studies, South African Studies, and African Healthline) to form a multidisciplinary
aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This resource is essential for those with an interest in African research, and information on and about Africa.

Business Source Premier

Provides journal coverage in the areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Business Source Premier features: cumulative full text for nearly 1,685 scholarly business journals and more than 40 regional publications; indicative abstracts and indexing for over 2,350 business journals, nearly 880 of which are peer-reviewed; charts and graphs converted to keyword-searchable ASCII text; a directory of over 1.4 million company records from Dun & Bradstreet; and over 1,200 journals with images.

Country Watch

Provides critical country-specific intelligence and data through its suite of products to over 4000 clients including public and private sector organizations with overseas operations and global interests.

Access via password - please contact the Library at 650 3704.

 

International Financial Statistics

The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manualsguides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available. 

Access via password - please contact the Library at 650 3704

ISI Emerging Markets

A Euromoney Institutional Investor Company.  ISI delivers hard-to-get information, intelligence and data on over 80 emerging markets through a suite of ward-winning electronic subscription products.

UCT has access to Africa & the Middle East, Asia, Argentina, Brazil and Chile.

ISI Web of Science         

Explore the world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool.

Jutastat Publications - via Juta Law Online

Includes: Burrells Intellectual Properly Law Library; Indexes to the Government Gazettes of South Africa; Statutes of SA; Wette van SA; Labour Library; SA Appellate Division Law Reports; SA Criminal law Reports; SA Law Reports; Zimbabwe Statutes and Case Law; SA Regulations; Civil Procedure Library; Tanzanian Law Reports; Zambia Law Reports, Namibian Law Reports.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

A huge  database of journal and news articles, together with search options for country reports and company profiles, each from a range of top notch sources. Sign in with the Single Sign-On (SSO).

undefined

Lexis Nexis Online

In a constantly changing corporate, political and legal landscape, you require information you can rely on. You need innovative ways to bring your organisation fully up-to-date on changes to stay one step ahead.
At LexisNexis we work together to deliver efficient knowledge -based solutions. With the unique combination of Butterworths authoritative content, powerful online research, and advanced productivity tools, LexisNexis can help you stay one step ahead in a time of change. Our content, tools and expertise deliver a unique portfolio of offerings designed to help you succeed.
LexisNexis is part of RELX Group plc, a world-leading provider of information solutions for professional customers across industries, while South African investment firm, Tsiya Group, owns a minority interest in the company. LexisNexis South Africa's acquisition of Korbitec (Pty) Ltd from the Naspers Group in November 2015, established the company as the leader in conveyancing solutions in the South African legal market, as well as expanded its reach to other spheres and stakeholders within the property transfer process.

 

 

 

undefined

SA e-Publications

This service, which is the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic South African journals in the world, focuses on making journals published in South Africa available online.

undefined

Tax Treaties Database 
This database, published by the IBFD, "contains more than 3,600 tax and social security treaties together with over 2,000 protocols, supplementary agreements and exchanges of notes to these treaties."

undefined

The Government

The key government agencies involved in efforts to alleviate and iradicate poverty are:

The Presidency

Department of Social Development

South African Social Security Agency (SASSA)

National Development Agency (NDA)

These agencies publish regular annual reports, annual performance plans and strategic plans. Please ask the librarians if you wish to consult them.

Local Government

Department of Provincial and Local Government. National framework for municipal indigent policies

Department of Provincial and Local Government (2005). Guidelines for the implementation of the national indigent policy by municipalities

Breede Valley Municipality. Indigent policy

Bushbuckridge Local Municipality. Indigent policy 

Chief Albert Luthuli Municipality. Indigent policy, 2012

Chris Hani District Municipality. Indigent support policy. May 2017

City of Cape Town. Poverty alleviation and reduction policy : the City of Cape Town draft policy, March 2013

City of Cape Town. Food gardens policy in support of poverty alleviation and reduction, December 2013

Van Ryneveld, Philip. Indigent policy : including the poor in the City of Cape Town’s income strategy. Cape Town: City of Cape Town, 2003. Shelf no. G RCT E.SOCI.03.INDI

City of Johannesburg (2008). Expanded social package policy & strategy : eligibility mechanism and operational structure for poverty-targetting subsidies and services delivered  by and in collaboration with the City of Johannesburg

City of Polokwane. Indigent and social assistance policy, 2017/18

City of Ekurhuleni. Indigent support policy, 2018/19

Limpopo. Department of Local Government and Housing. Limpopo indigent policy framework

Mbombela Municipality. Indigent policy

Midvaal Local Municipality (2014). Indigent policy

Mogale City Local Municipality (2010). Indigent management policy

Mutale Municipality. Indigent policy

Newcastle Municipality. Indigent policy

Steve Tshwete Local Municipality (2013). Free basic services and indigent support policy

Thumalela Municipality. Indigent policy, 2014/2015

Umzinyathi District Municipality. Indigent support policy

West Coast District Municipality. West Coast District: poverty alleviation strategy: final report, December 2006. Part 1part 2part 3part 4.

Zululand District Municipality. Indigent policy, year 2017/2018

Provincial Government

Department of Social Services and Poverty Alleviation. Directorate: Safety Net Development. The integrated poverty reduction strategy for the Western Cape Province. Second draft, April 2005