It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
City and Regional Planning & Urban Design Library Guide: DATABASES
To access the electronic databases, go to the UCT Libraries web site (http://www.lib.uct.ac.za) and hover your mouse over Search & Find in the top menu bar. In the dropdown menu, click on Databasesto open the alphabetical list of databases, where you can navigate to the database you need.
Google Scholar is a Web search engine that specifically searches scholarly literature and academic resources.
There is overlap between the content in Google Scholar and the Library's individual databases. Also, many citations in Google Scholar will link to full text in the Library's databases or in publicly available databases, click on ViewIt@UCT to access the full text.
Google Scholar can be a convenient starting place, but it is not a comprehensive "one-stop shop." For more precise searching, more search features, and more content, use the Library's databases.
Academic OneFileProvides extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Africa-Wide InformationAfrica-Wide Information combines databases (African Studies, South African Studies, and African Healthline) to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This resource is essential for those with an interest in African research, and information on and about Africa.
OECD iLibraryOECD’s Online Library containing all books and papers published since 1998 as well as a vast collection of statistics with data going back to the early 1960s. UCT access does not include the IEA statistics.
PAIS IndexFormerly known as PAIS International, this database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Subject coverage includes mainly social and health-related issues such as: Affirmative action; AIDS; Child Labor; Child Sexual Exploitation; Climate Change; Disaster Relief; Ethnic Cleansing; Female Circumcision, etc.
SAGE Research Methods (SRM)SAGE Research Methods (SRM) is an award-winning tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SRM's taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content.
SRM's taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content, including:
* Over 600 books
* Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks
* The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series
* Two major works collating a selection of journal articles
* Newly commissioned videos
ScienceDirectAccess to journals and ebooks published by Elsevier Science.
SpringerLinkSpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer.
Sustainability Science AbstractsMajor areas of coverage include: Human Population Dynamics; Population - Environment Relations; Population Statistics and Policy; Ecotourism; Sustainable Living and Consumption; Environmental Awareness and Education; Environmental Law, Conventions, & Policy; Sustainable Resource Base: Atmosphere; Land; Water and Biodiversity; Economic Drivers; Sustainable Development and Production; Sustainable Energy; Sustainable Transportation/Mobility.
A good source to use for international articles on tourism (leisure). However, we do not have full-text access to all articles. Recommendation: search for articles under 'Sport and Leisure'.
Wiley Online LibraryWiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, 9000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
Databases are searchable collections of records describing journal articles and other documents such as conference papers, reports, and book chapters. They are produced commercially or by learned societies, and most of them are international in scope, thus enabling you to explore the world's literature in a particular field. When you search a large international database, the articles you discover may, or may not, be available in UCT Libraries. Most databases provide abstracts (or summaries) of the articles' content, and some provide the full text of the articles themselves.
Where the full text is not available from the database, click on ViewIt@UCT (Google Scholar) or to help you track the full article. You can also use PRIMO to find out if we have the journal in printed format.
If UCT does not have access to a journal, please request the article via our Interlibrary Loans service.
Below is a selection of databases we recommend for Planning and Urban Design students:
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. It is accessed via the EBSCOhost platform.
Articles from 93 international and South African journals as indexed by the Department of Architecture at the University of Pretoria over the years to enable users to access information on architects, buildings, building materials and methods, design theory, urban design, and much more.
PlanUP was developed for the indexing of the extended archive of the Department of Architecture (University of Pretoria). Donations of the work of some of South Africa’s major architects were accumulated over the years, including original hand-drawn plans, elevations, sections, and diaries. The database includes diverse, research reports, articles, frameworks, sketches and photographs.